How to delete your LinkedIn account

Ding! Ooh, an email! What glorious opportunity is here? Perhaps it’s that important work email you’ve been waiting for – better still, maybe it’s an old friend getting in touch? Oh.

“I’d like to add you to my professional network on LinkedIn.”

Maybe someone, somewhere finds these notifications life-affirming and gets real use from their LinkedIn account. As you’re on a page titled “How to delete your LinkedIn account,” I’m going to go out on a limb and say you’re not one of them.

In any case, you’ve come to the right place – and good news, LinkedIn’s new owners Microsoft have made it stupidly easy to remove yourself from the employment cover version of Facebook. In fact, it can be done in just two clicks. Before that though, a few caveats:

  • You won’t be able to access your contacts anymore (kind of obvious, really)
  • Your LinkedIn profile may still be indexed by Google for a while
  • Any recommendations you’ve been given will vanish
  • Any recommendation you’ve given others will disappear from their profile at the same time
  • If you’ve got a premium account or own a LinkedIn group, you’ll have to cancel the former, or pass on ownership of the latter

Still want to give up? Okay:

How to delete your LinkedIn account

  1. Step 1

    Click here. 
  2. Step 2

    LinkedIn will show you everything you’ll lose by choosing to close your account. If you’re still determined, just select a reason for leaving and click “Next”.


  3. Step 3

    Enter your password if prompted again
  4. Step 4

    Your LinkedIn account will be deleted immediately

Like most accounts you choose to close online, there’s an opportunity to change your mind – but in LinkedIn’s case the window is quite small: just 20 days. Worse, a few things aren’t guaranteed as being salvageable, including recommendations, groups, and followings.

Still, if you do have a change of heart, getting most of your account back is pretty easy: just log back into your account with your old username and password in the next 20 days, and LinkedIn will let you back in with no questions asked.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.