How to Forget a Network in Windows 11

Connecting automatically to a Wi-Fi network is a convenient way of setting up your internet connection. It means not having to go through the process of logging in to a network every time you boot up your device. However, you may find that you have a long list of networks that you’ve signed into over time. Some of which may not even be of use anymore.

How to Forget a Network in Windows 11

If you’d like to forget a Wi-Fi network on your Windows 11 computer, this guide will walk you through the process.

How to Forget a Network in Windows 11

Windows 11 remembers the details of your connection for future use. This can sometimes cause issues when you try to connect to the internet. It can also cause conflicts if the link has been accidentally misconfigured. To resolve these issues, you can forget a network in Windows 11. It will then treat the network as a new connection the next time you try to sign in.

Before you forget a network, you might want to note the password down somewhere in case you want to use the network again. Below we’ll list the different methods you can use to forget a Wi-Fi connection in Windows 11.

How to Forget a Network in Settings

Settings in Windows lets you tweak almost everything on your computer. You can even use it to forget a Wi-Fi network. Here’s how it’s done:

  1. Head over to the Start menu and type “Settings” in the search bar.
  2. Tap “Network & Internet” and then pick the Wi-Fi option.
  3. Press “Manage Known Network” and select the network you want to forget.
  4. Click “Forget,” and the network will be erased from your list.

You have now forgotten a Wi-Fi network in Windows 11.

How to Forget a Network in Quick Settings

If you want to forget a Wi-Fi network in Windows 11, you can do this through the Quick Settings menu.

  1. Navigate to the taskbar and tap the Quick Settings button.
  2. Click “Network” to see your list of Wi-Fi networks.
  3. Scroll to the network you would like to forget and right-click on it.
  4. Press “Forget” to remove it from the list.

You have now used Quick Setting to forget a Wi-Fi network.

How to Forget a Network from the Action Center

The Action Center lets you manage Wi-Fi networks that are within range. You can use this method to forget a Wi-Fi network that you no longer use. This is how to do it:

  1. Tap the Wi-Fi button in the Action Center.
  2. Press the arrow next to the Wi-Fi to open the list.
  3. Right-click on the network you would like to forget.

Windows 11 will now forget the selected network.

How to Forget a Network in Command Prompt

One of the easiest ways to get things done is using the command prompt. These steps will show you how to use this function to forget a Wi-Fi network in Windows 11.

  1. Go to the search bar in the Start menu and type in “cmd.”
  2. Tap “Run as administrator” and then enter the following command:
    netsh wlan show profiles
  3. Hit “Enter” to see a list of your saved networks.
  4. Type the command below to forget one of the networks and then press “Enter.”
    netsh wlan delete profile name=network name

Replace “network name” with the one you’d like to forget and it will be deleted from your list. A message will be sent to you letting you know that the Wi-Fi network has been deleted.

How to Forget a Network with PowerShell

PowerShell is an avenue that you can use to forget a Wi-Fi network. To use this method, here’s what you need to do:

  1. Navigate to the search bar in the Start menu and type in “PowerShell.”
  2. Press “Run as administrator” to enter PowerShell.
  3. Type in the command below in the dialogue box and hit “Enter.”
    netsh wlan show profiles
  4. A list of your saved networks will be displayed. To delete one, type in the following command:
    netsh wlan delete profile name=network name
  5. Click “Enter” to complete the process.

Replace “network name” with the one you’d like to forget and it will be removed from your list.

How to Forget Saved Networks with Command Prompt

If you’re looking to delete all your saved networks, you can use Command Prompt to remove them in one go. Here’s how it’s done:

  1. Type “cmd” in the search bar located in the Start menu.
  2. Right-click “Run as administrator” to enter Command Prompt.
  3. Type in the command below and press “Enter.”

netsh wlan delete profile name=* i=*

All your saved networks will now be deleted.

How to Forget Saved Networks in the Registry Editor

The Registry Editor can be used to delete the Wi-Fi networks saved on your computer.

  1. Open the RUN dialogue box by pressing Win + R.
  2. Type in “regedit” and hit “Enter”
  3. Select the network subkey on the displayed Profiles folder on the left side of the screen.
  4. Confirm that it’s the right network by checking the “ProfileName” key on the right-hand side of the screen. It will be under the “Data” column.
  5. Right-click on the subfolder displayed on the left-hand side and then tap
  6. Delete.”
  7. Press “Yes” to confirm your action.

The Wi-Fi network you selected will now be deleted.

How to Forget a LAN or Ethernet Connection

Along with forgetting Wi-Fi networks saved on your device, you might also want to clear LAN or Ethernet connections. Follow the steps below to do that:

  1. Go to the Start menu and right click on it.
  2. Select “Device Manager” and then tap “Network Adapters.”
  3. Scroll to the LAN or Ethernet connection you want to be removed and right-click on it.
  4. Click “Uninstall Device” and tick the prompt that will be displayed.
  5. Tap “Uninstall” to complete the process.

The selected LAN or Ethernet connection will now be forgotten.

How to Reconnect to a Forgotten Network

Forgetting a network doesn’t mean that it becomes undiscoverable. It only means that the passwords are removed and your computer will no longer be able to connect to the network automatically. If you want to reconnect to the Wi-Fi network once again, you can do so using various methods available to Windows 11 users. The fastest is probably through the Action Center.

Here’s how to do so:

  1. Navigate to the Action Center and click on the arrow next to the Wi-Fi action.
  2. Select the Wi-Fi network you would like to reconnect to.
  3. Type in the password and tick the box that says “Connect Automatically.”
  4. Hit “Confirm” to complete the process.

You have now reconnected to a forgotten network.

Saying Goodbye

There are several reasons why you might want to forget a Wi-Fi network saved on your Windows 11 computer. With this guide, you’ve learned several methods to help you do so. Whether through the Quick Settings menu or the Command Prompt, there are plenty of avenues you can explore.

Have you ever forgotten a Wi-Fi network on Windows 11? Which method did you use? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos