How to Block a Follower in Instagram
Blocking an Instagram user is useful when you don’t want someone to visit your profile or view your stories. A blocked Instagram user won’t be able to find your profile even when using the app’s search tool. If you use Instagram on your mobile devices, in this article, we will show you how to block a user and related information.
Blocking a Follower in Instagram
Instagram provides several ways to block followers. If you’ve never been in contact with the users you want to block, you can do it from their profile. On the other hand, if you’ve been in contact with them at some point, you can also block them from the chat thread. Follow these steps to block users from their profiles:
- On your Instagram page, look for the account profile you’d like to block. You can type their name on the search feature or look for them among your followers.
- Once you find Instagram profile of the person you want to block, tap on the three dots in the upper right corner.
- From the menu, tap on “Block.”
- You’ll see a pop-up menu with various options.
- Select “Block” to forbid access to the selected account. You can also block users and other accounts they may have or create.
On the same menu, you’ll also find the option “Block and Report.” You can report users anonymously for various reasons.
- If you think the Instagram user is pretending to be someone else.
- If the user you’re trying to block is under 13 years old.
- For other reasons, including the account being used for spam, if you find the content offensive, or if it sells illegal goods.
Be aware that choosing to block other accounts that users may have will work only with accounts you aren’t currently following. If you already follow some accounts of the same user, you’ll have to repeat the process with each account you want to block.
Another alternative to blocking a user is from the chat thread with that account. Follow these steps to block an Instagram user from the chat window:
- On the chat window, tap “View Profile.”
- On the new page, you’ll find several options, including “Profile” and “Search.” then pap on the “three dots” on the upper-right corner.
- From the pop-up window, tap “Block” or “Block and other accounts they may have or create.”
Note that the chat thread will still appear on your chat feature, but you can no longer contact that user. If blocked users try to contact you through the chat thread, you won’t receive their messages.
What Happens When You Block Someone?
When you block someone on Instagram, the blocked user won’t receive any kind of notification informing them they’ve been blocked. Additionally, they won’t be able to find your profile anywhere in the app, whether looking for your username on the search feature or among the followers of friends you may have in common. Here’s what will happen with your past interaction with a blocked account.
Comments and Likes
When you block an Instagram user, every like and comment from that person will be removed from your profile. However, these users can still see your likes and comments on public accounts and account they follow. If you decide to unblock a user, their likes and comments won’t be restored.
Blocked users won’t be able to mention you in their comments or tag you in pictures. Even if you decide to change your username after blocking users, they won’t be able to tag or mention you unless they’re unblocked.
The messages on your Instagram app will also be affected when you block a user. Here is what will happen with your messages.
- The chat thread you’ve shared with a blocked user will still be on your chat window. However, you won’t be able to message them.
- If you’re in a group and you decide to block a member, you’ll get a message to confirm if you want to stay or leave the group chat. If you choose to stay, you can see messages from the blocked users.
- If the person you want to block has multiple accounts, you’ll have to block each of them manually.
- Blocking an Instagram user doesn’t mean they will be blocked on Facebook. Unless you manually block the users on Facebook, they can still reach you through the app’s chat.
How to Unblock Someone on Instagram
If you’ve blocked a person by mistake, or if you want to grant an account permission to revisit your profile, you can unblock it by following these steps:
- Tap on your picture in the lower right corner to access your profile.
- Go to the three lines in the upper right corner.
- From the menu, tap on “Settings and Privacy.”
- Scroll down the menu till you reach “Blocked” under “Who can see your account.”
- You’ll see a list of all your blocked users. Tap the “Unblock” button next to the user you want to unblock.
How to Restrict Someone From Commenting on Your Posts
If you don’t want to block Instagram users but want to limit their access to your account, you can restrict their comments and interaction with your profile. Only you and the user can see new comments and history replies when restricting an Instagram user. Additionally, the chat between you and the restricted user will no longer be listed on your account. Follow these steps to restrict an Instagram user:
- Open the Instagram profile of the person you’d like to restrict.
- Tap the three dots in the upper right corner.
- Select “Restrict” from the menu.
- Tap on “Dismiss” on the pop-up window or “Learn more” if you want further information on what restricting an Instagram user entails.
Will an Instagram user know if you block them?
Instagram users don’t receive a notification when someone blocks them. However, if they try to look for your profile, they won’t find you, which may cause them suspect to they’ve been blocked.
Will someone know if you unblock them on Instagram?
Unblocked users won’t receive a notification when you unblock them on Instagram. However, they might be notified that you’re following them again, making them realize you’ve unblocked them.
When you block someone on Instagram, do they know you saw their story?
When you see view someone’s story, you’ll automatically be listed in the views list. However, if you view someone’s story and block them immediately after, your name will disappear from the viewers’ list.
Block or Not to Block?
Instagram is a social media platform that provides its users with a wide range of alternatives to handle their interactions with other users. One of those alternatives is the chance to block a user you don’t want to interact with. When you block Instagram users, they won’t be able to visit your profile or even find it. Every like and comment will be deleted and won’t be restored if you decide to unblock the user.
Did you know it was possible to block an Instagram user? Let us know in the comment section.