How to Remove Netflix Recently Watched Shows

Netflix, with thousands of new titles updated every month, your recently watched content may fill up quickly. Whether you want to keep your viewing activity private, or you want to stream on a family member’s account undetected, we’ll show you how to remove your recently watched shows.

How to remove recently watched shows from Netflix on PC and Mac:

If you’re using a PC, a Mac, or a web browser on a mobile device you can follow the steps below to remove your viewing activity. If you have more than one profile you will need to remove the viewing activity for each profile.

Visit the Netflix website and follow these instructions:

Click on ‘Account’

Log in to your Netflix account and hover over your profile icon and click “Your Account”.

Click on the arrow icon to the right of your profile.

Click on ‘Viewing Activity’

Underneath the “Profile & Parental Controls” section, click on “Viewing activity”. 

Click on the circle with a line in it

Here you can remove any show you’ve ever watched and, if you like, delete an entire series from your history at once. Right-click on the circle with a line through it and select the ‘Hide Series’ option. If you want to remove just one episode simply click on the circle and select ‘Hide from your history’.

(Optional) Click ‘Hide All’

You can also hide the entire history by scrolling to the bottom and clicking on the ‘Hide All’ option.

That’s it, you’re done! You’ve removed all that questionable content from your Netflix and can watch your shows in the comfort of knowing you can remove them again with ease.

Removing Viewing History on the iOS Mobile App

Unfortunately, Netflix has removed the account access options for the app version of the streaming service. If you’d like to remove your viewing history from your mobile device, use a web browser and log into Netflix.

Click on the browser’s menu option and choose ‘Desktop Site’ then follow the steps above to remove you recently watched history.

How to remove recently watched shows from Netflix on Android:

Android users still have an Account option in their Netflix app. This will automatically take you to a web browser but it is viewable in the mobile version of the website making it much easier to work with.

Open the Netflix app, and tap on the profile you’d like to edit.

Tap the three vertical lines in the lower right-hand corner.

If prompted, tap on the web browser of your choice and log in.

Tap on ‘Account’

Follow the same steps we’ve listed above to remove your viewing history.

Tap on the down arrow next to your profile

Tap on ‘Viewing Activity’

Click ‘Hide All’

As with the instructions above, you can click the circle with the line in it to remove one show, or click ‘Hide All.’

Hiding your viewing history is really simple once you understand the layout. You will have to use a web browser but Safari, Chrome, and even Samsung Internet are all capable of performing the task.

Other Netflix Features for a Better Experience

Netflix offers quite a few ways to customize your content. This means there are a lot of features and options in the settings. Aside from simply removing your recently watched content, you can also manage video playback settings and recommended shows.

Using the same navigational directions above, you can click on the down arrow next to your profile to access some pretty neat features.

For example, you can turn off the auto-play function. If you’re the type who falls asleep watching the latest episodes of Stranger Things, turn off the auto-play feature to avoid missing episodes.

If you want Netflix to give you better recommendations, be sure to rate the shows you’ve watched in the past. Next to each title (you can access them from the viewing activity section above) has a thumbs-up or thumbs-down option. If you really like a show, give it a thumbs-up and Netflix will recommend similar content with similar ratings.

Lastly, you can upgrade your subscription to watch content in 4k. Giving you four streams at one time with better quality, it is certainly a feature worth mentioning for the serious binge-watcher.

There is recent viewing that I didn’t watch, is this a glitch?

If you’re seeing content in your recently viewed section, it’s likely because someone else is using your Netflix profile. Under the account settings, you can view login activity.

First, check for any devices that don’t belong to you (or locations that aren’t near you). You can click the option to ‘Sign Out of all Devices, and change your password to secure your account.

Can I just delete an entire Netflix profile?

Yes, if you have a profile you’d like to remove (aside from the one the account was created with) you can click the edit option from within the app and remove the profile with all of it’s stored content.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.