Facebook’s Timeline: it’s not all bad news

Since the Timeline combines previous Profile and Wall information, it’s pretty easy both to see a lot of stuff about yourself and to restrict who else can see it.

Facebook's Timeline: it's not all bad news

If you’re worried by all your job history, relationship status changes, friendship data, photos and status updates being on display, restrict who can see what by clicking the dropdown menu next to each such entry and applying the filtering options – hiding the entry from the Timeline will do just that and prevent it from being seen by others, while deleting it removes that entry altogether.

No deleting

Deletion doesn’t work for certain content types, however, so you can’t use this route for friend acceptances, nor for your date of birth, and the Timeline cover photo/banner you choose can only be updated and not hidden completely.

Privacy concerns aside, I’d suggest you take the opportunity that the introduction of the Timeline provides to tidy up your Facebook experience a little

Depending on just how long you’ve been on Facebook, how active you’ve been during that time, and how paranoid you are about keeping stuff private, this job could take a while – but the point is that it can be done, and it’s in your power to hide pretty well anything you want.

If you posted something on someone else’s Wall, and they don’t care about their privacy, those posts became public by proxy and you can’t hide them since they’re not on your Timeline.

However, you can delete them. Use the Activity Log to see all your posts by date, and then go through this list and delete anything you’ve posted on someone else’s Wall, which will remove it from their Timeline.

Tidy up your friends

Privacy concerns aside, I’d suggest you take the opportunity that the introduction of the Timeline provides to tidy up your Facebook experience a little.

Go to the Friends section and hover over the name of each in turn, selecting the Friends button that appears in the box that pops up. From here you can configure whether their posts appear in your newsfeed, and more to the point what types of posts they make appear there.

This can help reduce clutter tremendously, especially if you have a friend who’s always posting photos you’re not interested in, or is addicted to those stupid game apps that insist on posting how many points they’ve accrued or stars they’ve earned.

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos