How To Share a Photo Album on an iPhone

Sharing photo albums with your iPhone is a great way to keep your friends and family updated on what’s going in your life. Better yet, it’s also possible for them to share their video and photo albums from their iPhones with you as well.

How To Share a Photo Album on an iPhone

The method to share an album on an iPhone isn’t complicated, even if you’re doing it for the first time. But there are certain limitations you should know about.

This article tells you how to share an album on different iPhones as well as what you can and can’t do in iPhoto.

How to Share an Album on an iPhone X, 11, and 12

Sharing an album on an iPhone is straightforward, but there are some steps to take before you start sharing.

  1. Update your device’s software.
  2. Make sure iCloud is set up.
  3. If you’re using multiple devices, you need to use the same Apple ID.

Sharing an Album

  1. Launch Settings, tap your username and select iCloud.
  2. Choose Photos and tap “Shared Albums.”
  3. Navigate to “Albums” and select the plus icon to create a new album.
  4. Select “New Shared Album,” name it and hit “Next.”
  5. Invite people to the shared album and select “Create.”

These steps apply when you’re creating a New Shared Album. Do the following if you have already created an album and just want to invite more people.

  1. Go to “Albums” and choose the one you’d like to use.
  2. Select “People,” then “Invite People.”
  3. Type the name of those you want to invite and select “Add.”

The great thing about sharing albums on an iPhone is that people you invite don’t need an iCloud account. To invite the non-iCloud users, do this.

  1. Open the shared album you’d like to use, then select “People.”
  2. Select “Public Website” and toggle it on.

By doing that, you allow anyone who’s invited to see the images you use from a browser.

How to Share an Album on an iPhone 6, 7, and 8

Earlier iPhone models allow for album-sharing, and you take the same steps to do so. But it won’t hurt to run through them again.

  1. Update your iPhone.
  2. Set up your iCloud.
  3. Use the same Apple ID across all your devices.

Sharing an Album

If you’re creating a New Shared Album, take these steps.

  1. Tap the “Settings” app, select your username, then choose “iCloud.”
  2. Select “Photos,” then “Shared Albums.”
  3. Tap “Albums,” then the plus icon, and create a new album.
  4. Choose “New Shared Album,” give it a name, and select “Next. “
  5. Add people to the album and tap “Create.”

Adding people to an existing shared album is even easier, and here’s what to do.

  1. Select “Albums,” then tap the album you want to use.
  2. Choose “People” and then tap “Invite People.”
  3. Enter their names and select “Add.”

People you invite don’t need to use iCloud to access the album if you turn on the Public Website option.

  1. Choose a shared album and tap “People. “
  2. Tap “Public Website” and turn it on.

Adding Videos and Photos

It’s easy to add videos and photos to an existing shared album, and the actions are the same regardless of the iPhone model you’re using. Also, you can add images from the Photos app or from the album itself. Either way, the method is the same.

  1. Access Photos or Album, choose “Select” and pick the content you wish to share.
  2. Hit the “Share” icon (a square with an arrow on top).
  3. Choose “Add to Shared Album.”

The last action is a bit different depending on your access point. If you’re doing it from the album, tap the plus icon and add images or videos. If you access it from “Photos,” select the desired album and tap the “Post” button.

After you complete the action, all the people within the album will get a notification. And if you want them to add images or videos, toggle on the “Subscribers Can Post “option. You do that from the “People” tab within a shared album.

Deleting Videos and Photos

Similar to adding content, deleting photos and videos is simple; just take the following steps.

  1. Access a shared album and choose a video or photo you want to delete.
  2. Hit the Trash icon and select “Delete Photo.”

Album owners can delete anything, including the image or video comments. Other users can only delete the content that they added.

Keep in mind that content deleted from a shared album gets removed from all devices using the same iCloud account. And they’ll get deleted from subscribes’ devices as well.

But if you save videos and images to Photos, they’ll remain in the library despite deleting the album.

How to Delete an Album?

The actions to delete a shared album are the same across all iPhones, assuming they’re updated to the latest iOS. Here’s how to do it.

  1. Access a shared album and tap “People.”
  2. Select “Delete Shared Album,” confirm the action, and that’s it.

If you have more than one shared album, there’s an alternative method. When you access the shared albums list, select “Edit” and hit the minus icon to remove an album.

Whichever method you use, the album gets deleted from all devices. And it won’t be accessible via a browser if you have Public Website toggled off.

More importantly, deleting albums will remove all their contents. So, you should save images and videos you’d like to keep in another location.

How to Remove a Person

Again, the steps to remove a person from the subscriber list apply to all iPhones if they’re using updated software.

  1. Select a shared album and open it.
  2. Navigate to “People” and choose a person you’d like to remove.
  3. Select “Remove Subscriber” – the option is at the bottom of the menu.

Note that only album creators can remove people or an entire album. Those who can access the album don’t have the administrative privileges to manage albums and subscribers.

Important Notes

It’s possible to create a shared album on earlier iterations of iOS. You take the same steps as previously described, only the option is called iCloud Photo Sharing.

However, it’s best to update your software to the latest version to avoid bugs, sharing issues, or laggy loading of the album itself.

Shared albums on iPhones support the following video and image formats:

  • JPEG
  • PNG
  • TIFF
  • HEIF
  • RAW
  • GIF
  • MPEG-4
  • QuickTime
  • HEVC
  • H.264
  • MP4

Also, you can upload the formats that are unique to iPhone, such as time-lapse, Memory videos, and slo-mo. Whatever you upload and share, note that the images will also be compressed.

Regular images, regardless of the format, get compressed to 2048px at the longer edge. That doesn’t apply to panoramic photos that could be 5400px.

As for videos, the length caps at 15 minutes, and the resolution is limited to 720p.

Lastly, a shared album contains a copy of the image or video data. Once downloaded, the pictures and videos might not have the same data. However, you won’t notice this unless you try to do a full-size print or use the images in professional editing software.

Storage Limitations

A single shared album can hold 5,000 videos or images. If you get a notification that you’ve reached the album limit, there’s no way to extend the storage even when you have paid iCloud storage.

Apple keeps these albums in iCloud, but they don’t affect your storage limits, which is actually a good thing.

The only way to get more room in an album is to delete some images and videos. But doing that removes all the likes and comments on a particular photo or video as well.

Care to Share?

Sharing albums on iPhones is quite handy, not only for personal use. These albums may work great for specific businesses and promotional purposes because all the members of the team get instant access to the content they need.

But you should be careful about the compression, especially when sharing videos and images that should be edited. Lesser image quality and resolution may look odd when you post content on social media, for example.

Have you encountered any problems with sharing albums or adding people?

Tell us about your experience in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos