How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on iMessage
Many iPhone and iPad users rely on the iMessage app to text and send photos and videos, but is there a way to tell if someone has blocked you? Unfortunately, users don’t receive a notification if one of their contacts has blocked them.
Still, there are certain things you can do to find out if that’s indeed the case. In this article, we’ll share a few methods you can try to check If someone has blocked you on iMessage.
How to Check if Someone Blocked You on iMessage
The only surefire way of knowing if someone blocked you is if they tell you, which isn’t unlikely. Still, trying all the methods listed below will give you a good idea of where you stand.
Method 1: Check the Color of the Text Bubble
There’s a difference between iMessage and SMS/MMS on iOS devices. When two iPhone users are messaging each other using Wi-Fi or mobile data, their text bubbles are blue, which means they’re using the iMessage service.
However, if your recipient isn’t connected to the internet, the text bubble will appear green. That’s because you’re no longer using iMessage but sending an SMS. So, if your text bubble was blue and one day turns green, that can be a red flag. The person you’re speaking to might not have an internet connection or may have changed to an Android device. But if the color of the text bubble changes and they also take a while to reply, that could be an indication that they’ve blocked you.
Method 2: Check the iMessage Delivery Status
Was there a Delivered or Read status under your sent iMessage before, and now it’s gone? That can mean the person you’re texting has blocked you on iMessage.
However, it could also mean that they’ve turned off the “Send Read Receipts” option. It doesn’t mean they haven’t seen your message, just that they don’t want you to know that they’ve seen it.
- Send a message to the contact that you’re curious about whether or not they have blocked you.
- Check the iMessage delivery status.
This isn’t the same as being blocked, but it might feel that way if you never receive a reply. The sudden change in the iMessage delivery status could indicate an intentional block or a need for more privacy.
Method 3: Check Other Messaging Apps
This solution can come in handy if you or the person you’re texting use another messaging app as well.
So, if you’re not getting a response on iMessage, and the delivery status isn’t available, try messaging them somewhere else. If you’re not blocked on other platforms as well, your message will be delivered when your contact is online. If you don’t receive a response when trying a different messaging app, you’ve either been blocked or the person doesn’t want to respond.
Method 4: Give Them a Call
If someone has blocked you on their iPhone, they won’t receive your call. Once you dial their number, the phone will ring once and then go straight to voicemail.
Granted, that could also mean they’re busy and can’t talk. However, if it happens each time you call, there’s a chance you’ve been blocked.
Remember that even if you leave a voicemail, the person won’t get a notification about it and likely won’t hear it.
Method 5: Check Your Device
It’s best to check for issues on your end before assuming the worst. For example, perhaps the other person wasn’t responding because you’re offline and didn’t know.
Another possibility is that the Messages app is down for some users. While these events are rare, they do happen from time to time.|
How to Block Someone on iMessage
It might not be easy to find out whether you’ve been blocked on iMessage, but you can block someone in no time. Here’s how it works:
- Go to the Messages app.
- Find the conversation with the person you want to block.
- Tap on the Info button on their profile.
- Scroll down and select Block this Caller.
Frequently Asked Questions
It’s no fun when you’re wondering if you’ve been blocked on iMessage. So, we’ve included this section to answer more questions you may have about iMessage blocking.
Can someone block my texts without blocking my phone calls?
No. If someone blocks your phone number on their iPhone, they block your calls, texts, and FaceTime calls. There isn’t an option to block one and not the others.
If someone blocks me, can I still send an iMessage?
You can send an iMessage, but the other person won’t receive it, and it won’t appear if they unblock you.
If someone blocks me on their phone, can I send an iMessage to their Mac?
Of course, this is a moral grey area, but technically, it depends. If the person who blocked you blocked your phone number but not your iCloud email, you could potentially still iMessage them on their Mac.
However, it’s important to consider whether you should or not. Sometimes people get upset and will unblock you in due time. It’s best to wait it out rather than try it.
No Foolproof Solution
Being blocked is never fun. It’s even worse when it comes from a person you’ve been talking to on iMessage. Maybe there’s a reason you think they might have blocked you, or perhaps their sudden disappearance leaves you baffled.
Either way, it might not be possible to find out if they’ve blocked you unless they admit it. You can analyze the text bubble color, check the delivery receipts, and check if you’re blocked on other messaging apps. If the results are unclear, you can try reaching out with a phone call.
But ultimately, you will be left wondering if they don’t respond.
Have you ever been blocked before? What were your methods of checking? Let us know in the comments section below.