How to Delete a Device from Find My

The Find My app by Apple is a handy tool that helps you locate your devices when you misplace them. However, there may be instances where you would like to remove your Apple product from the feature. It may be because you no longer use that particular device or because it’s not in your possession anymore. Deleting your device from the Find My app can be accomplished in a few simple steps. This article will walk you through getting this done whether you are using your Mac, iPhone, or iPad.

How to Delete a Device from Find My

How to Remove a Device in Find My on a Mac

If you have a device that you no longer use, you can remove it from your Find My app’s devices list. The device must be offline for this to work. Once it has been deleted from the app, it will only appear in the devices list if Activation Lock is still turned on. To remove the device from the Find My app, follow the instructions below.

  1. Turn off the device that you would like to remove from the app.
  2. Go to Find My and click “Devices,” located at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Tap on the name of the device you want to remove and then hit “Remove This Device.”
  4. Press “Remove” to complete the process.

The device will no longer be available on Find My.

Turn Off Activation Lock on a Mac

If you are selling your Apple device, it’s advisable to deactivate Activation Lock so that the product is no longer linked to your Apple ID. The next person who uses the device will then be able to connect it to their Apple account. Here’s how to disable Activation Lock on your device.

If you still have the device, you can turn Activation Lock off from Settings by following the instructions below.

  1. Navigate to the Apple menu on your Mac and click on “System Preferences.”
  2. Tap “Apple ID” and select “iCloud,” located in the sidebar.
  3. Untick the “Find My Mac” box on the right-hand side.

If you no longer have possession of the device you want to remove from Find My, the steps shown here will direct you on how to deactivate Activation Lock.

  1. Open the Find My app and scroll to the bottom of the screen.
  2. Press “Devices” and select the device you would like to remove.
  3. Tap “Remove From Account.”

Activation Lock has now been turned off.

How to Remove a Device in Find My on an iPhone

You can remove devices from the Find My app using the instructions shown below for devices that you no longer use. They won’t appear in the devices list unless the product’s Activation Lock feature is still active.

  1. Power off the device you would like deleted from Find My.
  2. Open the app and tap on “Devices” at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Click on the device’s name from the list displayed and press “Remove This Device.”
  4. Hit “Remove” to complete the process.

You have successfully removed your device from the Find My feature.

Turn Off Activation Lock on an iPhone

If you are giving away or selling your iPhone, turning off Activation Lock would be a good idea. This will enable the next user to connect the device to their Apple account. Check out how to disable Activation Lock.

If you have physical access to the device:

  1. On your home screen tap the “Settings” icon.
  2. Tap the “Apple ID” and then “Find My.”
  3. Toggle off the “Find My iPhone” right next to it.

If you don’t have the device you would like to remove from Find My, you can use the steps shown here to disable Activation Lock.

  1. Head to the Find My app and tap “Devices” at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Hit “Remove From Account” to deactivate the feature.

You have now turned off Activation Lock.

How to Remove a Device in Find My on an iPad

To remove a device you no longer use from the Find My app, the device will need to be offline. It will no longer appear under your list of devices unless it still has Activation Lock enabled. This is how to delete a device from Find My.

  1. Turn off the product that you would like deleted from the app
  2. Open Find My and press “Devices,” located at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Hit “Remove This Device” then “Remove.”

Your device has now been deleted from the Find My app.

Turn Off Activation Lock on an iPad

Before you sell or give away your Apple device, it would be best to deactivate Activation Lock. Doing so will allow the next user to connect to the device using their Apple ID. The steps shown here will help you disable Activation Lock.

If you have the device with you, you can turn off the Activation Lock feature as shown here.

  1. Tap the “Settings” icon.
  2. Go to “Apple ID” then “Find My.”
  3. Toggle off the slide button next to “Find My iPad.”

If you don’t have access to the device, these are the instructions for you.

  1. Launch Find My and navigate to the bottom of the screen.
  2. Tap “Devices” and pick the device you would like to remove.
  3. Click “Remove From Account.”

You have now deactivated the Activation Lock feature.

How to Remove an iPhone Leather Wallet in Find My

If you would like to connect your Leather Wallet to an alternative Apple ID, you will have to unlink it from Find My. It will no longer show up on the app. This is how to remove a Leather Wallet from Find My.

  1. Open Find My and press “Devices” at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Click “Remove This Device” and follow the prompts that will be displayed.

Your iPhone Leather Wallet will now be deleted from your device.

FAQs

What happens when I erase a device in Find My?

Erasing a device using Find My may be necessary if you want to delete information from an Apple product that’s lost or stolen. Erasing the device wipes all the information stored there, preventing your data from falling into the wrong hands.

Features like your Apple Pay, credit or debit cards, and Express Transit cards are removed from the device. Here’s how to erase a device in Find My.

1. Open Find My and click “Devices” at the bottom of the page.

2. Find the device name and press “Erase This Device.”

3. Hit “Continue” and input your credentials when asked to enter a passcode.

4. Press “Erase,” enter your Apple ID, and tap “Erase” again.

The information on your device will now be erased.

Out With the Old

The Find My feature is handy as it enables you to locate lost devices. However, there are instances where you may want to delete a device from the app. It may be because you are selling your phone or no longer use that particular product. Whatever the case may be, this article shows you how to delete your product from Find My. This will keep your information safe and allow a new user to connect to the device through their Apple ID.

Have you deleted a device in Find My? Let us know how you went about it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos