How To Delete your LinkedIn Account [Permanently]
Want to permanently delete your LinkedIn account? Found an old account that is no longer relevant? Want to delete your current account and start afresh? This tutorial will show you how.
Despite being a social network, LinkedIn is a nice place to hang out and is full of positive people trying to develop careers and networks of professional contacts. It helps that it is full of professionals rather than random people and subjects are mainly of work, industry and career subjects too of course.
There are many reasons you might want to delete your LinkedIn account. From going dark to wanting to reset your career or life with a complete change. While most social networks try to hold onto you as a terrier will hold onto a ball, LinkedIn is different. It will freely let you pause or delete your account.
Permanently delete your LinkedIn account
Rather than hold it until you change your mind, you can delete your LinkedIn account completely. It will delete your profile, your pics, your contacts, and everything to do with your LinkedIn life. There is even a shortcut to closing your account on this page. One button at the top says Close Account. Hit that and you’re into the closure wizard.
Delete your LinkedIn account in a browser
Many users find it easier to do this type of thing on a desktop browser so we’ll start there. If you’re near a computer, follow these steps:
- Log in to LinkedIn and go to your profile page.
- Select Settings & Privacy.
- Click on ‘Account Preferences’ in the menu on the left-hand side. Then, click on ‘Account Management.’
- Scroll down and click on ‘Close Account.’
- Select one of the reasons for closing your account from the list. Then, type a description of the reason you’re closing your account (this is required). Finally, click ‘Next’ at the bottom.
- Lastly, type in your password to verify your account and click ‘Close Account.’
You will still see a warning about data deletion and we’re sorry to see you go but LinkedIn won’t make too much of a fuss about you leaving.
Delete Your LinkedIn Account in the App
You can also delete your LinkedIn from the app if you prefer. The process is much the same as the browser.
- Log into the LinkedIn app.
- Select your profile icon in the upper right-hand corner.
- Select ‘Settings’ at the top.
- Tap on ‘Account Preferences.’
- Select the Close Account option at the bottom of the Account tab.
- Select Continue and add your reason for leaving.
- Enter your password to confirm and select Done.
Like above, you will see notifications about data loss and being sorry to see you go but your account will be permanently closed.
What happens to your data after you close your LinkedIn account?
Social networks are notorious for harvesting as much data as they can get away with. Then being very reluctant to surrender it when you want to leave. So what happens to all your data when you permanently close your LinkedIn account?
Section 4.3 in LinkedIn’s terms and conditions is very clear what happens. The data is kept for around 30 days and then deleted.
‘If you choose to close your Linkedin (or SlideShare) account, your personal data will generally stop being visible to others on our Services within 24 hours. We generally delete closed account information within 30 days of account closure, except as noted below.
We retain your personal data even after you have closed your account if reasonably necessary to comply with our legal obligations (including law enforcement requests), meet regulatory requirements, resolve disputes, maintain security, prevent fraud and abuse, enforce our User Agreement, or fulfill your request to “unsubscribe” from further messages from us. We will retain de-personalized information after your account has been closed.’
Reopen your LinkedIn account
Account closure isn’t permanent until 30 days have passed. From day 20, your account is put into a deletion queue ready to erasure. You have those 20 days to change your mind about closing your LinkedIn should you want to.
If you do, this is how to reopen your account:
- Sign in to LinkedIn as you used to.
- Select Reactivate from the options you see once logged in.
- Wait for the confirmation email LinkedIn will send to your registered email account to verify it’s you.
- Acknowledge the reactivation from the email.
Once acknowledged, your LinkedIn account should be immediately reactivated. If you try this after those 20 days, reactivation will fail and you will genuinely have permanently deleted your LinkedIn account.
LinkedIn is refreshingly clear about data and fair about deleting your account and your data. While most data is deleted, the T&Cs do say some of it will be retained but anonymized. That’s about as good as it gets now so we don’t have a great deal of choice about that.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I temporarily deactivate my account?
Absolutely! Following all of the steps above, select the option to ‘Hibernate Account’ rather than close your account. This will remove your profile and information so that other users will not see it. The only thing they will see is ‘A LinkedIn member’ when visiting your profile or attempting to send you a message.
From what we’ve seen there is no time limit for how long you can hibernate your account. When you’re ready to reinstate your account simply log in. Your account will come out of hibernation with all messages, content, and profile information intact.
If I permanently delete my LinkedIn account, can I recover any information?
Unfortunately, not after 30 days. If you’ve deleted your account and feel that you’ve lost important information or would like to reinstate it, this isn’t possible after the first 30 days.