How To Add Someone You Deleted in Snapchat
Why do people delete contacts on Snapchat? It can be because someone is bothering them with tasteless snaps. But sometimes it happens accidentally.
You probably know that there are two ways to dispose of someone from your contact list: you can delete or block them. Each one comes with its own advantages.
Once you’ve removed someone, you’re free to revisit your decision at any time and send them a friend request again. However, it’s important to think about the consequences.
Removing a Contact
To start things out, let’s explain how to remove someone from your Snapchat contact list.
- Bring up your friends list
- Tap and hold a name
- Tap on “More”
- Tap “Remove Friend”
Blocking a Contact
A very similar process is involved when blocking someone.
- Go to your friends’ list
- Tap and hold a name
- Tap on “More”
- Select “Block”
The Differences Between Removing and Blocking Your Contacts
If you delete a contact from your list, you won’t be able to get any more snaps from them. Your snap score becomes private but all previous snap exchanges are available to revisit, assuming you’ve saved them.
When you delete someone from your contact list, they won’t be notified of your actions.
Blocking a contact leads to more drastic changes. For example, even saved messages will disappear. Also worth mentioning is the fact that when you block and then unblock someone who used to be on your friends’ list, they won’t be automatically added back as a friend.
How to Add People to Your Friends List Again
Obviously, in order to add someone you’ve deleted, you need to remember their account. This shouldn’t be hard if you’ve deleted an old friend.
- Open the Snapchat app on your mobile device and make sure that you’re logged in
- Tap the Add Friends icon
- Use one of the four choices below to add the deleted user
Note* You can add people by username, contacts, Snapcode, and it’s easier to add people nearby. You can even add them from your address book.
- Select “Add”
That’s all there is to it. You can now patiently wait for them to accept your request.
If you don’t remember a person’s username but you have mutual friends, you can ask for their username or even their phone number.
You can then add the phone number to your address book and use the “Add from Address Book” feature to locate them on Snapchat and add them as a friend again.
In order to add someone from your phone’s contact list, you need to give Snapchat access to that list. The device’s contact list is not exactly the same as your address book. If you grant Snapchat the access it needs, when you tap the “Contacts” tab instead of the “Add Friends” tab, the app will display which contacts have their phone numbers linked to a Snapchat account.
You will see the “+ Add” button to the right of their names. Tap it to connect with them on the app.
What Happens When You Re-Add an Old Contact
Once you add someone that you’ve previously deleted, Snapchat allows you to see all the snaps they’ve sent you while you weren’t friends – assuming they accept your invite the second time around.
Here’s an interesting fact that not many users realize. Each Snapchat user profile has a list titled “Snapchatters who have added you back”. Say you’ve deleted someone and they haven’t noticed. All they have to do is check that list and look for your name.
This is important because deleting and blocking contacts doesn’t send notifications. But a person can still check to see why you may have stopped responding. When you delete someone, your name will disappear from that list on their profile.
It’s worth thinking twice before deleting someone. If you have doubts, know that you can’t just change your mind afterward without them knowing about it. Whether you delete someone or block someone, things may get awkward.
Manage Your Friends List with Care
Never forget that you can’t add someone to your friends’ list without them knowing about it. After weeks or months of silence, your willingness to reconcile might not be appreciated.
It’s also important to remember that blocking someone will definitely delete previous snaps and conversations between the two of you. If you’re not just disposing of a random heckler, it’s better to use the “Delete” feature instead since that will at least let you look back at important moments.
Will someone know if I delete or block them?
Although they won’t receive a notification, they will no longer see your snaps, be able to send you messages, or see your Snap score.
What if I can’t find the friend I deleted?
u003ca href=u0022https://social.techjunkie.com/snapchat-find-deleted-friends/u0022u003eIf you can’t find the usernameu003c/au003e, or you don’t have their Snapcode, you can attempt to find the username by using your contacts. You can also attempt to download all of your Snapchat data from the website and find deleted friends.
Will they get a notification that I added them back?
Yes, if you’re trying to anonymously add a friend back in Snapchat they will get a message that you re-added them.