How To Turn Off Friend Suggestions in SnapChat

Like most people, you probably have a long list of friends on Snapchat. But have you ever noticed that the app suggests other users you might want to add to your list? While this feature can be useful if you’re looking to expand your social circle, it can also be a bit intrusive.

How To Turn Off Friend Suggestions in SnapChat

Friend suggestions can include people with whom you’ve had a complicated history. It can include people you don’t know but probably have your phone number. Sometimes the list can also include scammers with ulterior motives.

Fortunately, there’s a way to turn off these suggestions and stop Snapchat from populating your feed with users you don’t want to interact with.

In this article, we’ll show you how to go about it.

One of the features of Snapchat is the “friend suggestions” section. This area of the app shows you recommended friends based on your current contacts and past interactions on Snapchat. You can also view friends who are nearby or recently active on the app. While this feature can help find new friends, it can also be confusing and overwhelming.

You may end up with too many requests or receive requests from people you aren’t keen to connect with. And with too many friends, you may end up with cluttered DMs as everyone tries to break the ice.

Luckily, Snapchat provides a way to disable new friend suggestions. You just have to tweak your settings. Let’s see how to go about it depending on the type of device you’re using.

How to Turn Off New Friend Suggestions in Snapchat on an iPhone

iPhones are compatible with Snapchat and provide a high-quality experience. The camera on the iPhone is one of the best available, and Snapchat takes advantage of this by offering users filters and lenses that improve the quality of photos and videos.

The Snapchat app for iPhones is designed to keep you in control of your friends list. If you don’t want the platform’s algorithms to suggest new friends for you to connect with, all you need to do is change the app’s permissions.

Here’s how:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap your avatar in the top left corner.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the top right corner. This should take you to the “Settings” section on your account.
  3. Select “Notifications” from the dropdown menu.
  4. Uncheck the box next to “Friend Suggestions.”

And that’s it! You’ll no longer get occasional notifications about new potential connections.

Many Snapchat users don’t know that there’s yet another settings modification that can help you manage your friend suggestions – disabling the platform’s Quick Add feature.

The Quick Add feature on Snapchat is a way to quickly and easily add friends on Snapchat. It’s displayed at the top of your screen as soon as you open the app. Whenever you receive a random request from someone, it means you’ve appeared on their Quick Add list. So, if you disable this feature, you won’t pop up on other people’s lists. This can help you reduce the number of friend suggestions you receive.

Here’s how to disable Quick Add on your Snapchat account:

  1. Open your Snapchat app and tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Head to the “Settings” section by tapping the gear icon in the top right corner.
  3. Navigate to the “Who Can” submenu.
  4. Select “See me in Quick Add” from the dropdown menu.
  5. Uncheck “Show me in Quick Add.”

Once you’ve done this, you will no longer be part of other Snapchatter’s Quick Add list. Essentially, it will reduce the visibility of your profile on the platform. However, users can still find you by typing your username in the search bar.

How to Turn Off New Friend Suggestions in Snapchat on an Android Device

The Snapchat app built for devices running on Android is eerily similar to the one designed for iPhones. As a result, managing your friends list is also very similar.

Here’s how you can turn off friend suggestions on your Android:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Open the “Settings” section by tapping the gear icon in the top right corner.
  3. Tap “Notifications.”
  4. Uncheck the box next to “Friend Suggestions.”

This will stop Snapchat from sending notifications whenever its algorithms detect a user with whom you share interests, including common friends.

FAQ

Who is likely to appear on your friend suggestions list on Snapchat?

The people on your friend suggestions list on Snapchat are usually on your phone’s contact list but have not yet been added to the app. These users are also generally people with who you share interests.

In addition, Snapchat algorithms consider how often you interact with someone on Snapchat and how often they interact with you. So, if you’re constantly sending snaps to someone and they’re replying just as frequently, there’s a good chance they’ll end up on your friend suggestions list.

Declutter Your Feed

Snapchat is a great way to stay connected with friends and family, but it can also be a source of unnecessary stress. Keeping up with your current social circle can be tough if you’re constantly bombarded with friend suggestions. After all, the main idea of Snapchat is to help you connect with close friends and family, but not everyone on the platform.

Fortunately, Snapchat gives users the option to turn off friend suggestions. By taking this step, you can declutter your feed and focus on the connections that matter to you most. Remember that if you turn off these suggestions, it will be more difficult for people to find and connect with you. But if you value your privacy, it’s worth taking that extra step.

Have you tried to turn off friend suggestions on your Snapchat account? How did it go?

Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos