How to Unblock Someone on Messenger

Facebook Messenger has become one of the most popular chat apps. As we’d expect from such a popular platform, you can block and unblock other users. While you can block other users on Facebook, Facebook Messenger also offers the feature separately from the social media site.

How to Unblock Someone on Messenger

If you accidentally block someone on Facebook messenger, or you have forgiven them for their indiscretions, you can easily unblock them. Here’s a quick guide on how to unblock someone on Messenger, covering iOS, Android, and web browsers.

Mobile Devices (iOS & Android)

Facebook Messenger is available as an application on Android and iOS devices. The interface is pretty similar on iOS and Android. However, there are some slight differences.

How to Unblock Someone on iOS

iPhone and iPad users can follow these steps to unblock another user on Facebook Messenger:

  1. Open Facebook Messenger and tap on your profile icon in the upper left-hand corner.
  2. Tap on Privacy.
  3. Tap on Blocked Accounts.
  4. Tap on the account you’d like to unblock.
  5. Tap on Unblock Messages and Calls.

As with most things iOS, it doesn’t take a lot to perform the steps to unblock someone.

Android

If you have an Android phone or tablet with the Facebook Messenger app, follow these steps to unblock someone:

  1. Open Facebook Messenger and tap on your profile icon in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Scroll down to the Preferences heading and tap on Privacy.
  3. Tap on Blocked Accounts.
  4. Tap on the account you’d like to unblock.
  5. Tap on Unblock Messages and Calls.

As you can see, the unblocking process is pretty streamlined for both iOS and Android users.

Browser Method

If you prefer the browser version of Facebook Messenger, you can follow these steps to unblock an account:

  1. Use this link to log directly into Facebook Messenger. You can also open Facebook, tap the Messenger icon in the upper right corner.
  2. Tap on the three horizontal dots in the pop-out window. Then, tap on Block Settings.
  3. You will see a list of users you’ve blocked on Facebook. But, if you scroll down, you can see the list of users you’ve blocked on Messenger. Tap Unblock next to the user you’d like to remove from this list.

The web browser makes it slightly more complicated than the app version of Facebook Messenger to unblock accounts. But, once you get the hang of it, it’s easy enough.

How to Block Someone on Messenger

Here’s a quick recap on how to block a user on Messenger.

Messenger App

Access Chats and navigate to the one you’d like to block. Enter the chat thread and tap on the profile picture of the person you’d like to block. Then, swipe down and tap on Block for more options.

block

Select “Block on Messenger” in the following window and confirm your choice in the pop-up. Note that this action doesn’t block that person on Facebook.

The other way to do it is to tap on your profile picture within Chats, select People, and then Blocked. Tap “Add Someone” and choose a person among your contacts.

Important Note

There is no option to block messages from pages and commercial profiles; at least, it’s not called Block. After you tap on the page’s profile image, you’ll see Receive Notifications and Receive Messages. Tap on the button next to Receive Messages to toggle it off.

receive messages

Browser Method

There are two ways to block a person on Messenger here. Navigate to the Blocking tab (as described above) and enter the contact name in the box next to “Block messages from.”

Another option is to click on the Messenger icon, select the chat thread you’d like to block, and click the gear icon. Select Block, and you are done.

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have more questions about unblocking users on Facebook Messenger, keep reading.

If I block someone on Facebook, does it block them on Messenger too?

Yes. If you opt to block someone on Facebook, you will also block them on Facebook Messenger automatically. However, if you choose to block someone through Messenger, that doesn’t necessarily mean they are blocked on Facebook.

Will my messages reappear after I unblock someone?

If you block someone on Messenger, you can still see all of the messages you’ve sent and received. This means that you can still see everything after unblocking the other user.

The option to ‘Unblock Messages and Calls‘ is greyed out. What’s going on?

If you’ve followed the steps above but the ‘Unblock Messages and Calls’ button is greyed out, it is because you’ve blocked them on Facebook and not just their messages and calls. You can tap on the ‘Unblock on Facebook’ option to begin communicating with the other person again.

Lock, Stock, Unblock

So, who do you think deserves to be blocked or unblocked? Feel free to share your experience with the rest of the community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos