Instagram adds WhatsApp-style “last seen” feature: Here’s how to turn it off

 Just when you thought you were free from WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger’s invasive Last Active indicators, Instagram has itself quietly introduced the “feature” into its app. 

Instagram adds WhatsApp-style “last seen” feature: Here’s how to turn it off

If you swipe through to Direct Messages, you’ll see some curious timestamps telling you when a follower you’ve chatted to recently last visited the app. Even worse is that Instagram has it turned on by default. 

Thankfully, if you still want some semblance of privacy, it’s easy to turn off Instagram’s Last Seen feature, and here’s how to do it.

READ NEXT: Meet the 21-year old influencing a generation of Instagram influencers 

How to turn off Instagram Last Seen 

  1. Open Instagram and tap on your profile.
  2. Tap the Gear or Settings icon.
  3. Click Privacy.
  4. Scroll down and locate ‘Show Activity Status’, and toggle this to off.

Turning the activity toggle off means that while you get your privacy back, you won’t be able to see when other followers were last seen on the app.

The introduction of Instagram’s activity monitor is one feature in an ever-lengthening list of features which make the app look a lot like Facebook.

READ NEXT: How to repost on Instagram 

Back in 2016, Instagram began organising feeds out of chronological order, and added live video the following year. Unsurprisingly, the company’s most well-received features haven’t been taken from Facebook. Instagram has previously introduced a sliew of features poached from Snapchat – the activity monitor not being one of them – like Instagram Stories and Instagram’s Snapchat-like filters. 

One thought on “Instagram adds WhatsApp-style “last seen” feature: Here’s how to turn it off”

Sondra says:
So what are you saying ?
Which is worse for privacy?
Why is one better than the other?
Show apples and apples, not apples and oranges. Make what you’re saying make sense. Put the stuff side by side.
Steve Larner says:
Not sure what you mean here, but they are saying that if you turn the activity status off to protect your privacy, you also cannot see the last active status of others. They may still have the feature on, and their other friends can see when they were last on, assuming they also have the activity feature on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos