One million users sign Snapchat update petition, here’s how to delete your Snapchat account for good

If you want to see how teens revolt when they don’t get their way, all you need to do is take a look at the reaction to Snapchat’s first major UI update of 2018.

The backlash to the update has seen over a million users sign a petition calling for Snapchat to remove the new update and return it to its former glory. Users are complaining that the app is now unnecessarily complicated to use, and buries content from friends in favour of brands and companies.

With Snapchat users all over Twitter threatening to delete the Snapchat app, and furious users manically trying to figure out how to delete their account altogether, we lay it all out for you. Here is exactly how to delete your Snapchat account and give Snapchat a piece of your mind.

The original article continues below.

It’s nice and all to see attractive snaps of your best mate’s double chin and nose hair, but you may find eventually you can have too much of a good thing. If you’ve had enough of doggo-filter selfies, Happy Hour marguerites, and triple venti, half-sweet, non-fat caramel macchiatos with soy milk clogging your notifications, maybe it’s time to wave bye-bye to Snapchat?

Whether you’re just fed up of your conscious wavering whenever Snapchat implements a completely misjudged, racist filter, or you want to finally take that anxiety-relieving digital detox and rid Snapchat from your life, we’ve got you covered.

Thankfully, Snapchat has made it pretty trivial to leave its platform, unlike Facebook, and it gives you a 30 day deactivation grace period in case you change your mind. Just be aware that after those 30 days are up, your account will be scrubbed from existence.

Though if you don’t think you’re ready for that kind of commitment, you could instead delete your Facebook or Instagram accounts first.

How to delete your Snapchat account for good

While it’s easy to delete your Snapchat account, you aren’t able to delete it from inside the app itself.

  1. Go to https://accounts.snapchat.com/accounts/delete_account on your phone or from your computer.
  2. Enter your username and password.
  3. Tick the box to complete the Captcha and confirm that you’re not a robot.
  4. Select ‘Login’.
  5. Re-enter your username and password.
  6. At the bottom of the page, select ‘Delete my account’.
  7. Your account will be deactivated for 30 days and will be permanently deleted after this period. If you have a change of heart, just log back in to Snapchat.

During this 30-day period, your friends will not be able to send you any pictures, videos or messages. After that month is up, your username will be removed and you can go on living, happy in the knowledge that you’re now completely Snapchat-free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.