How to View Your Rank in VRChat

A pioneer among virtual reality platforms, VRChat has amassed thousands of loyal users through its ease of use and encouragement of player involvement. Recently, the platform has rolled out a set of new features called the Trust System, which assigns users specific rankings. Knowing your rank will optimize your performance, while viewing other players’ ranks allows you to see who is the most skilled and reliable. While these rankings are not always visible, there’s a way to access this information and enhance your gameplay.

How to View Your Rank in VRChat

This article will discuss VRChat’s Trust System rankings, how to view them, and why they are important. We’ll also provide some tips on how to move to a higher rank.

What Is the VRChat Trust System?

The VRChat Trust System is a novelty in the VR space. To maintain a safe environment where users can freely enjoy different worlds, VRChat has implemented a system that assesses users’ virtual trustworthiness.

The more time you spend on the platform, the more trustworthy you become. Continuous activity like uploading content, engaging with different users, and others interacting with your content proves that you want to keep the platform a safe space. The sum of a user’s positive activity is reflected in their Trust Rank. When displayed, the rank signals to users that you have positively contributed to the platform and have earned the trust of other players.

The Trust System addresses several concerns users have had over the years. With no regulations, crasher avatars could invade VRChat worlds easily. Crasher avatars are sometimes referred to as clappers, and they’re known for their malicious gameplay. Due to this loophole, crashers would infiltrate a world, and their avatars would display several forbidden meshes or particles. These unpermitted features would slow down other participants’ avatars and ruin their user experience. However, users exhibiting malicious behavior and disregard for fellow gamers earn a low trust level, and people know they should steer clear of them.

The system is also designed to differentiate between committed users and people who are not interested in contributing to world-building. VRChat has acknowledged that low-effort gameplay distracts users from enjoying the perks of virtual worlds and will not tolerate the following behavior:

  • Idling

When a user enters a room, they’re expected to have positive interactions with others and help them improve their shared virtual experience. AFKing or sitting in a room without participating can distract users from the game and degrade the platform’s quality.

  • Bad-Quality Content

Uploading a large amount of bad-quality content signals a user’s disinterest in helping the platform evolve. Mass uploads typically mean the person wants to find a low-effort way to rank up and unlock new avatar features.

  • Mass-Friending

Fostering positive relationships is one of VRChat’s key concepts, and the platform allows users to send friend requests. Sending out too many requests quickly is concerning because it’s a common ploy used by people who want to improve their trust rating.

Trusted users who begin displaying prohibited actions jeopardize their current status. Their Trust Rank may go down by several levels, or they could revert to being an untrusted user, meaning they’ll lose their content-uploading privileges. Additionally, their avatars will be stripped of their features.

How to See Your Rank in VRChat

VRChat avatars come with nameplates that show the user’s rank. You can recognize someone’s ranking based on their nameplate’s color.

Users who are just starting out will have a grey nameplate. They’re ranked as Visitors, and this phase usually lasts about 12 hours or until they get more familiar with VRChat. When the nameplate turns blue, you have been ranked as a New User and gain the ability to create and upload content like worlds and avatars to the platform.

Once you’ve got some VRchat experience under your belt, you level up to the User rank. When this occurs, your nameplate turns green.

Known users boast an orange nameplate and unlock the capability to hide their high rank from others. In that case, their plate will appear green, so they will receive User-level in-game treatment.

If your nameplate turns bright purple, you are recognized as a Trusted User, VRChat’s highest rank. It’s still unknown what parameters VRChat considers when assigning rankings, but users believe that it takes as long as one year of dedicated gameplay to become a Trusted User. This may sound demanding, but you’ll have no trouble getting to the top if you play the game regularly.

A special rank is reserved for Nuisance Users. If the platform notices several people have unfriended, blocked, or reported you for rude behavior, they’ll lower your trust levels. When multiple infractions happen in quick succession, you’ll be flagged by the deranking system and lose the in-game privileges you’ve earned. It’s even possible to get to a lower ranking than Visitor. Nuisance users are marked with a dark grey color, but you won’t come across them often. The platform blocks these users automatically whenever they enter a room.

The good news is that you can increase your ranking even when you experience setbacks. Abiding by the platform’s rules guarantees that you will eventually become a Trusted User. All you need is patience and dedication.

The Trust System is a subtle feature, so users’ rankings typically aren’t shown in-game. However, you can access this information through VRChat’s Quick Menu. To see your rank:

  1. Open the Quick Menu.
  2. Find the nameplate.
  3. The text in the left-hand corner of the nameplate indicates your trust rank.

This type of information is visible only while the Quick Menu is open.

The Quick Menu also acts as a scanner that compiles data on other VRChat users with whom you have interacted. To learn more about a specific user:

  1. Open the Quick Menu.
  2. Point to a user to get basic details.
  3. Select a user to receive an in-depth analysis of their VRChat performance. This action will also reveal their thumbnail and displayed rank.

The color of the thumbnail and the text underneath it will tell you the user’s Trust Rank. The smaller text box on the right-hand side is the user status. Underneath this box is the “tooltip.” It generates helpful tips based on where you are pointing.

How to Improve Your Trust Rank

Knowing the Trust Rank of other players will help you develop a better game strategy because you’ll know how skilled and trustworthy they are. Additionally, once you learn your ranking from the Quick Menu, you can come up with ways to level up and achieve your VR goals. While VRChat hasn’t disclosed what the best practices are, seasoned users claim the following tips are the most beneficial:

  • Friends

Making friends boosts your Trust Rank. The size of your friend list counts towards your trustworthiness, so mass-unfriending could negatively impact your current ranking.

  • Content Creation

Unity is VRChat’s content creation program. Using Unity requires moderate to advanced tech skills, and the platform rewards users who upload high-quality content. This shows their commitment to VRChat and willingness to learn how to operate related programs. Similarly, uploading lackluster content can deflate your trust levels.

  • Reporting

VRChat also appreciates players who remain vigilant and report suspicious behavior and malicious accounts. These actions demonstrate a user’s active participation in the platform’s development and determines which behavior serves the VRChat community best.

Rank Up and Have Fun Exploring Virtual Realities

Having easy access to vital information like Trust Rank is essential if you plan to become a virtual reality pro. The data will enable you to refine your gaming style and befriend users whose commitment to the platform rivals yours. Luckily, VRChat’s Quick Menu stores all the information you need to make informed virtual reality decisions.

What’s your current Trust Rank? What kind of information do you usually retrieve from the Quick Menu? Let us know in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos