How To Disable Guest Mode on macOS

A Guest User account on a Mac computer provides a quick solution when you need to share your device with someone. It can be a friend or a family member wanting to check their email or read the news. Or it could be a coworker that needs to use your laptop for a presentation.

How To Disable Guest Mode on macOS

However, if you’ve already had a guest user on your Mac, and your computer is never out of sight now, you can disable that user account and even permanently delete it. In this article, we’ll cover everything you need to know about Guest Mode on macOS.

How to Disable Guest Mode on macOS

MacOS computers can have multiple users and even multiple administrators. That’s useful when there is one computer in a household, and everyone has full access. But when you allow someone to use your macOS temporarily, they are usually in Guest Mode.

A guest doesn’t require a password to log in, nor can they change any settings you’ve put in place. They also can’t log in remotely, even when remote login is on in Sharing preferences.

If someone was a guest on your macOS and they don’t need to use your device anymore, you can disable their guest profile. Here’s how it works:

  1. On your computer, access Apple Menu or the Dock and open “System Preferences.”
  2. Now, open “Users & Groups.”
  3. A new window will open, and on the left side, you’ll see the list of users (including the current user) and the list of other users, as well as what type of user they are.
  4. To make any changes in this section, you must navigate to the lock icon at the bottom where it says, “Click the lock to make changes.”
  5. It will prompt you to enter your admin password. Then click “Unlock.”
  6. Select the guest user by highlighting it with the cursor.
  7. Uncheck the box next to the, “Allow guests to log in to this computer” text.

Once you do that, under “Guest User,” it will say “Off,” which means that it’s officially disabled. You can repeat this process for every guest user account that you’ve previously created.

Can You Permanently Delete Guest User Mode on MacOS?

The Guest User mode is a built-in feature on macOS, regardless of the type of device you’re using. You can disable it, but you can’t permanently delete it.

The main reason that’s the case is that Apple has connected this service with the “Find My Mac” feature that serves as bait if someone steals your computer and tries to log in. The Guest Mode is not a real account, and it doesn’t have a home directory or file storage.

However, you can permanently delete other standard and sharing-only user accounts. All you have to do is access the “System Preferences,” select the user you want to delete, and hit the “-“ symbol at the bottom left corner of the window.

How to Disable Guest Mode in Chrome on macOS

One of the ways someone can browse the internet on your Apple computer without accessing your personal account is to create a Guest Mode account in the Chrome browser. To enable or disable this feature, you need to follow these steps:

  1. Launch Chrome browser on your macOS computer.
  2. At the top right corner, click on “Profile.”
  3. Select “Guest,” and another window will open that doesn’t have any saved preferences or websites.
  4. Once you’re done using the guest mode, all you have to do is close the browsing window.

All the history, data, and cookies will automatically be deleted once you leave. Even if you sign into social media accounts, none of the information will be saved.

How to Reset the Guest Account on macOS

If someone was using your macOS computer in Guest Mode and you find that you’re stuck in this mode and can’t go back to an administrator user account, you might need to reset the guest account.

One of the ways you can do that is to use Safe Mode. Restart your computer, and while it boots, press and hold the Shift key. When the login window appears, let go of the shift key and enter your admin user name and password.

How to Enable Guest User on MacBook Pro and MacBook Air

If you’re a MacBook Pro or MacBook Air user and your Guest User feature is disabled, you can easily enable it again for as long as you need to. Essentially, the steps are exactly the same as when you were disabling the mode.

You must access “System Preferences” from the main menu or the Dock, and then open “Users & Groups” and select the “Guest User” option. Ensure to check the box that allows the guest user to access the account. When they are done using it, you can immediately disable the mode with just a few clicks.

How to Change User and Group Preferences on macOS

If the FileVault feature on your macOS is turned off, the guests and user groups on your computer will only be able to use Safari to browse the web. However, if you want to give them access to an encrypted disk and the option to create files, you can turn on FileVault. Here’s how:

  1. Open “System Preferences” and then “Security & Privacy.”
  2. Select the “FileVault” tab.
  3. At the bottom of the window, select the lock icon and enter your admin user name and password.
  4. Select the “Turn On FileVault” option.

Also, when you’re enabling the Guest User mode on macOS by following the steps described above, you can check the “Allow guest users to connect to shared folders” option too.

Additional FAQs

1. What Is Single User Mode on Mac?

The Single User mode is a special type of start-up mode on macOS devices and is often used to troubleshoot any computer issues. It provides a minimal UNIX environment, and it basically forces a multi-user environment such as a Mac with more than one user into single-user mode.

That allows easier maintenance and tasks that need exclusive access. You can start the Single User mode on your computer by pressing Command + S key on the keyboard. Once you see white text on the screen, that means you’re in the UNIX console.

2. Why Can’t I Remove Guest User on Mac?

As we mentioned, the Guest User is there by default in every Apple computer. It has a double purpose. The first one is for you to allow others to use your computer without disturbing your settings safely. And the other is to help Apple find your computer in case it gets stolen. If your computer is missing, you can use the “Find My Mac” feature if someone has been trying to login.

3. Why Is My Mac Showing a Guest User?

If your Mac is in Guest User mode, that’s probably because someone has used it in that mode. It also means that you didn’t disable the feature when the last person was using it. A Guest User can’t switch back to the admin user account – only admin can do that.

So, perhaps someone needed access to Safari but didn’t have the admin password. Fortunately, even if they used your computer without permission, they didn’t have the ability to make any changes or preferences.

4. What Are User Groups in macOS?

You can create a user group in your Mac, which means that the same group of people will have the same access privileges. Perhaps you need a group of people to view a specific folder or file. These members will have the standard user type profile.

And here’s how you can create one:

• Open “System Preferences” and then “Users & Groups.”

• Unlock the preference pane by clicking on the lock icon.

• Select the “+” button on the bottom of the screen.

• Select “New Account” and then “Group.”

• Enter the group’s name and then select “Create Group.”

• Start adding users to the new group.

Choose Who Can Visit Your macOS Device

Most people are not too comfortable giving full access to their personal computer to just anyone. Unless you completely trust someone, it’s best to utilize the Guest User mode in macOS. That way, you know all they can do is browse and perhaps save a file if you permit them.

But when they’re done, you can easily disable the Guest User mode and not worry about someone else accessing it without your permission. Keep in mind, however, that you can’t permanently delete Guest User on macOS.

Do you allow Guest User mode on your macOS? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.