How to Stop Sharing Files or Folders in OneDrive

Microsoft’s OneDrive service offers access to any file or folder stored in your account via a one-cloud-based drive. When the file or folder owner permits shared access via a link, it provides easy collaboration or access to large files.

How to Stop Sharing Files or Folders in OneDrive

But what happens when shared access is no longer required, or the link falls into unauthorized hands? Luckily, you can halt shared access just as quickly as you allowed it. In this article, we’ll show you how to stop access to your OneDrive Personal files and folders via different devices.

How to Stop Sharing OneDrive Files or Folders From a PC

Here’s how to stop sharing a link to a OneDrive file or folder using your PC:

  1. Sign in to your OneDrive account via the app or OneDrive online.
  2. From the “Files” screen, choose the file or folder you wish to stop sharing.
  3. Click the “Information” (i) icon at the top right corner to access the “Details.”
  4. In the “Details” pane under “Has Access from (file or folder),” click “Manage access.”
  5. To remove a shared link, select the “X” next to the link.
  6. Click “Remove link” to confirm.

How to Stop Sharing OneDrive Files or Folders From an iPhone

To stop sharing a shared link to a file or folder using your iPhone, follow these steps:

  1. Launch the OneDrive app and sign in to your account.
  2. From the “Files” tab, press the three-dotted menu icon next to the file or folder you want to stop sharing.
  3. Tap the “Details” option.
  4. Under the “Has Access from (file or folder)” section, tap the “Anyone with this edit link” right-pointing chevron.
  5. Tap “Remove Access” to stop sharing the link immediately.

How to Stop Sharing OneDrive Files or Folders From an Android

If you need to stop sharing a OneDrive file or folder, here’s how via your Android device:

  1. Sign in to your OneDrive account via the app.
  2. In “Files,” tap the three-dotted menu icon next to the file or folder you want to stop sharing.
  3. Press the “Details” option.
  4. Beneath the “Has Access from (file or folder)” section, press the “Anyone with this edit link” right-pointing chevron.
  5. To stop sharing the link instantly, press “Stop Sharing.”

How to Stop Sharing OneDrive Files or Folders From an iPad?

Here’s how to stop sharing a OneDrive file or folder using your iPad:

  1. Sign in to your OneDrive account.
  2. From the “Files” tab, press the three-dotted menu icon beside the file or folder you wish to stop sharing.
  3. Choose “Details.”
  4. Beneath the “Has Access from (file or folder)” section, tap the “Anyone with this edit link” right-pointing chevron.
  5. To stop sharing the link, tap “Remove Access.”

Additional FAQ

How Do I Stop OneDrive From Syncing Folders?

Follow these steps to stop syncing your OneDrive folders:

1. Sign in to your OneDrive account via the app or OneDrive online.

2. Open the “Settings.”

3. Navigate to the “Account” tab.

4. Find the folder you wish to stop synching, then choose “Stop sync.”

How Do I Change Sharing Permissions on OneDrive?

Here’s how to change the sharing permissions for a OneDrive file or folder using your mobile app:

1. Sign in to your OneDrive account and select the “Shared” tab.

2. Choose the file or folder you want to change the permissions for, then select the Information (i) icon.

3. Choose how you want to change the permissions:

· To share the file or folder with more people, select “Add People.”

· Select “Manage access” for more options. Here you can choose “Can Edit” or “Can View” from the dropdown or “Stop Sharing.”

What Is the OneDrive Sharing Limit?

The file-sharing limit on OneDrive is 250 gigabytes.

How Can I Tell Who Has Access to My OneDrive?

Follow these steps to see who your files or folders are shared with in OneDrive:

1. Sign in to your OneDrive account.

2. From your document library, select a file or folder.

3. Select the Share icon at the top.

4. If that file or folder is currently shared, a “Shared with” list will display at the bottom of the Send link window.

Access to Your OneDrive Items Denied

OneDrive makes shared access to your files and folders super easy. However, recipients can forward the link to others, and it can essentially be accessed by anyone with the link. Luckily, at any time, you can see who has shared access and either change the permission or just stop the shared access. After that, anyone attempting to access the item will be unsuccessful.

Has there been a time when others accessed your shared file or folder you hadn’t sent the link to? Tell us in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos