What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean?

The term “Other Snapchatters” can leave you scratching your head when viewing your story on Snapchat. If you’ve found yourself in this situation, you’re not alone. Many users on the platform have asked the same question. However, scouring the Snapchat website won’t yield any answers as the company doesn’t mention it anywhere on its site.

What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean?

Fortunately, we’ve done some digging around and have discovered what the term “Other Snapchatters” refers to. In this article, we’ll tell you exactly what it means.

What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

The expression “Other Snapchatters” refers to Snapchat users who have viewed your story but don’t follow on the app. While that answers one question, it raises several more. Does this mean that a friend has unfollowed or blocked you? Let’s take a closer look at who gets the “Other Snapchatters” title.

You Have Been Removed as a Friend

When someone you are friends with on Snapchat views your story, the platform will show their username under normal story viewers. This means if someone you thought you were friends with on the platform shows up on your story view as “Other Snapchatters,” then you are no longer friends on Snapchat.

I hate to break it to you, but your friend probably unfollowed you and is now an “other.” You can use two methods to find out if you have been removed as a friend on Snapchat.

  1. Open Snapchat and navigate to chat at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Look for your friend’s name on the list displayed.

If the snap status reads “Status is Pending” and there is a gray arrow next to their name, then they have probably unfriended you.

Another way to find out if you have been removed as a friend is to use the Snapchat score. Here’s how it’s done:

  1. Launch Snapchat and search for the person you think has removed you as a friend.
  2. Next, click on their name and tap to open their profile.
  3. Check to see if you can view their Snapchat score. If you can’t, they are no longer following you on Snapchat.

Unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t make it easy to tell when someone unfriends you. The platform sends no notification, but you can still send the user messages unless they have blocked your account. The methods outlined above are a good workaround when figuring out if the “Other Snapchatter” is someone who has unfollowed you.

You Have Been Blocked on Snapchat

The person showing up on your story viewer list as “Other Snapchatters” could have blocked you after viewing your story. It really has you questioning your post, doesn’t it? Before jumping to conclusions, however, let’s ensure that the user has indeed blocked you on the platform. These three methods will help you get to the bottom of things.

  1. Open Snapchat and press the magnifying glass icon in the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Type in the username of the person you’re looking for.

If their name doesn’t come up, they could have blocked you on Snapchat.

You can also check recent conversations for clues about your online friendship status with the other user. This is how to do so:

  1. Launch Snapchat and tap on the chat icon at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Scroll down the chat history list and look for your conversations with the other user.

If they don’t appear in your chat history, they’ve probably blocked you. Try sending the user a message. If you get a response saying that the message couldn’t be transmitted, that’s further confirmation that you have been blocked. It’s important to note that they will no longer have access to any future stories you post.

If you attempt to send a message and the status says “pending,” it is more likely that they have unfriended you but not blocked you.

You Haven’t Added Them on Snapchat

If you have a public Snapchat account and see “Other Snapchatters” on your story view, you might not have added the user to your list of friends. The “Other Snapchatters” either have you on their account as a friend or have sent you a friend request that you have not responded to.

With the steps shown below, you can find out who these “Other Snapchatters” are and decide whether you want to have them as friends on your account.

  1. Open Snapchat and click on the Profile icon in the top right corner.
  2. Select “My story” from the dropdown menu and scroll through the list of viewers.
  3. Look through the names under “Other Snapchatters” to see who you aren’t friends with.
  4. Tap on their names to view their profiles.

If you mistakenly forgot to add the “Other Snapchatters” to your friends’ list, you can do so now before things get awkward.

How to Prevent “Other Snapchatters”

People who are not friends with you on Snapchat will only view your stories if your account is public. If seeing “Other Snapchatters” on your story view has made you aware that strangers are following your account, you can change your privacy settings as described below.

  1. Launch Snapchat and tap the Profile icon in the top left corner.
  2. From the profile screen, click on the Settings icon.
  3. Scroll to the “Who can” section and tap on “View My Story.”
  4. Hit “Friends Only” to keep random people out of your account.

Difference Between “Other Snapchatters and +1 More

In your story viewer list on Snapchat, you’ll see three categories of people. There will be those you are mutual friends with on the platform, the “Other Snapchatters,” and “+1 more.”

The main difference between “Other Snapchatters” and “+ 1” more is that “Other Snapchatters” have their usernames displayed in the list of people who viewed your profile. However, those in the “+ 1 more” category will not be identifiable.

The “Other Snapchatters” group consists of those who have blocked or unfriended you or people who have you on their friend list. Even if all that connects you to this group of people is a friend request, there is an established link recognized by Snapchat.

With the “+ 1 more” category, there is no connection, mutual or otherwise, between the two of you. You are not on their friend list, and they are not on yours. Therefore, the term “+ 1 more” usually shows up if your profile is public.

Mystery Solved

It is unclear why Snapchat introduced the term “Other Snapchatters” but failed to explain it to its users. Nonetheless, the meaning of the phrase has now been revealed after a little sleuthing. “Other Snapchatters” refers to those who have viewed your story and either removed you as a friend or blocked you altogether. This can be quite an awkward way to find out that all is not well with your friendship. It could also refer to someone who follows you, but you don’t follow them back. Either way, the “Other Snapchatter” mystery has been solved.

Have you been wondering what “Other Snapchatter” means on Snapchat? Did you use any of the methods outlined in this article to find out? Let us know what you think about the phrase in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos