What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram

Instagram introduced a new tool called “Restrict” in October of 2019. This feature provides the ability to “restrict” potentially aggressive users. You may also use it against those who are inclined to write snarky comments under your Instagram photos.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram

But how is it different from the blocking feature? And what does it mean when you restrict someone on Instagram? In this article, we’ll discuss everything you need to know about this handy Instagram feature.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram

Instagram’s restriction function is designed to keep bullies and abusive or otherwise bothersome messages and comments off users’ public accounts. Often users don’t wish to exacerbate the problem or generate unwanted conflict by contacting the individual offline.

Whether they are dealing with a frightening cyberbully or embarrassing family member, this feature can help. Additionally, if you’d like to keep a stranger from interfering with you without their knowledge, the “restrict” option is the ideal approach.

The “restrict” feature functions similarly to blocking but is more courteous. Restricting a user simply conceals the messages and comments they’ve sent you while still enabling them to see your content. This is a far subtler way to minimize undesired interactions without entirely blocking people from accessing your profile. As opposed to blocking a user on Instagram, the person you’ve restricted won’t be aware of it.

Furthermore, if that individual comments under your pictures or tries to message you, you won’t receive any alerts or see any of their activities. When you don’t wish to unfollow, block, or remove someone from your follower’s list, this feature comes in handy.

You may see a restricted user’s comment by pressing “See Comment” and selecting one of three options:

  • “Approve” if you wish other users to be able to see the comment.
  • “Delete” if you wish to erase it.
  •  “Ignore” if you don’t want to see the comment.

Also, on the “Message Request” page, you may see the messages that a restricted user has requested.

Instagram’s iPhone and Android apps and the company’s website allow you to place restrictions on a particular account. Here are the steps to restrict someone on Instagram:

  1. Open the profile of the person you want to restrict.
  2. Tap the three vertical dots in the upper right corner.
  3. Select “Restrict” from the drop-down menu.
  4. The restrict function may be explained to first-time users in a pop-up. Then select “Restrict Account” from the appearing menu.
  5. A notification will appear informing you that you’ve restricted the account. Select “Dismiss” or “Learn More.”

If you want to unrestrict an account, it’s simple to do so. Here’s how:

  1. Navigate to the user’s page.
  2. To access the menu, press the three vertical dots.
  3. Select “Unrestrict.”

What Does Restrict Mean on an Instagram Story

The restrict feature has little effect on how your profile and content are seen by the person you’re restricting. You and they both have access to each other’s feeds and stories.

However, if you don’t want your story to be visible to someone, the “Hide Story” option is available. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Tap “Profile” or your profile image in the bottom right.
  2. Tap “More choices” in the upper-right corner, followed by “Settings.”
  3. Select “Privacy” and then “Story.”
  4. Select the individuals from whom you wish to conceal your story
  5. Press “Done” (iPhone) or tap back in the upper left (Android).

To make someone’s story visible again, simply tap to unselect them. Additionally, while viewing who has seen your story, you may pick who to conceal it from. Bear in mind that hiding your story from someone is not the same as blocking them, as it does not prevent them from viewing your profile or posts.

What Does Restrict Mean on an Instagram Group Chat

If a restricted account sends you a message, it will be transferred to your Message Request inbox. However, if you’re in a group conversation, Instagram will alert you anytime the restricted account sends you a message.

Instagram will ask you whether you want to quit whenever you initially join a group conversation. If you decide to stay in the group conversation, Instagram will not limit your messages. Individual texts from the restricted account, on the other hand, will remain restricted.

Restrict vs. Block

Even while it’s a good idea to block someone from your Instagram, it might be unpleasant if you’ve blocked people you know, as they will be aware of it. Thanks to Instagram’s Restrict function, you no longer have to deal with these uncomfortable circumstances.

People can’t see your feed or stories if you’ve blocked them. Your profile will be visible, but they can only read the information in your bio, including the number of accounts you follow, the number of followers you have, and how many pictures you’ve posted. Even if your profile is public, they can’t see any of your posts.

However, if you just restrict someone, they still will be able to see your content.

By blocking a user, they will be unable to leave comments on your pictures. You may, however, both comment under one another’s pictures if you restrict someone. However, the comments posted by those who are restricted are accessible.

As a result, they won’t be aware that their activities have been limited. Nothing will change regarding your responses to their comments. They’ll still be visible to them.

You can’t send messages between you and the person you’ve blocked on Instagram. When restricting a user, though, things function a little differently. Restricted individuals can contact you. However, the texts are sent to the “Requests folder” instead of the Inbox.

If they send you a message, you won’t receive a notification. You can only read the texts if you go into the message requests and check them out one by one. No matter how often you check the “seen” message, they will not know you’ve seen their message. As a result, they won’t be aware of your reading the message.

You can respond to a restricted person’s messages by selecting “Unrestrict” from the bottom. It’s also possible to delete a message by clicking on the delete button.

Blocking and restricting are different on Instagram in certain other respects as well. This also applies to displaying information such as current activity, mentions, tags, and notifications. When you’ve restricted a user, you will no longer be able to view their active status.

You can still be tagged and mentioned in messages and comments even if you’ve restricted or blocked someone. However, Instagram won’t notify you about it if they’re blocked. Just keep in mind that Instagram’s restrict feature doesn’t function with tags or mentions.

Have Control of Your Instagram Account

Even though users won’t know they’ve been restricted, it’s simply a matter of time before they detect that something is off. However, it’s still a subtle and effective way to limit someone’s access to your profile. For now, this feature is unique to Instagram, and many users are fond of this handy addition to the platform.

Have you known about the restrict feature? Have you ever restricted someone on Instagram? Let us know in the comment section below!

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos