How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Instagram

Do you suspect that someone has blocked you on Instagram? It can be frustrating for a person’s profile to disappear without a trace from your feed, leaving you with unanswered questions.

How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Instagram

Fortunately, there are methods you can use to find out if a user has blocked you. Keep reading to learn how you can check who blocked you on Instagram.

What Happens When Someone Blocks You

You can see a list of people you’ve blocked on Instagram in the “Blocked Accounts” section. Unfortunately, there’s no such thing as the “Accounts Who Blocked Me” section. Simply put, Instagram won’t notify you if a user blocks your account. What’s more, there isn’t any official method of knowing if someone’s blocked you. The only way you can be sure is to check for yourself.

Blocking Isn’t the Only Explanation

You shouldn’t jump to conclusions if a person has suddenly vanished from your Instagram feed and stories. Blocking might be the worst-case scenario, but it isn’t the only possible explanation. Instagram user’s activity might drop if they:

  • Haven’t posted in a while
  • Switched to a private account and removed you as a follower
  • Deactivated their account
  • Deleted their account

Once you do a little investigating, you’ll know which scenario applies in your case.

How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Instagram

Suppose you have a growing suspicion that a friend or an acquaintance has blocked you on Instagram. If so, you can investigate in several ways. Some methods offer several possible explanations, but you can quickly eliminate most and come to an obvious conclusion if the person’s blocked you.

Search for Their Username

The first method is the most straightforward: type their Instagram username in the search bar.

If their account pops up and you can see all their posts, the user hasn’t blocked you. If you’re greeted by the “This account is private” message instead of their posts, they might’ve removed you as a follower but haven’t blocked you.

The account’s owner might’ve blocked you if their account doesn’t appear on your search. However, this may also mean one of the following:

  • They have deactivated their account
  • They have deleted their account
  • They have changed their username

While deactivated or deleted accounts usually vanish into thin air, you can quickly check if a person changed their username. Look for a tagged photo or a comment they’ve previously left and click on their profile. You should be able to see their new username if they’ve changed it.

However, if you can see their account, the profile photo, post, follower, and following count, but not their posts, they’ve probably blocked you. The “No Posts Yet” message on the photo grid, just a few inches below the actual post count, sends a pretty clear message.

Check Your Messages

Blocking someone on Instagram won’t delete your previous messaging threads. It only stops the person from messaging you afterward.

If you’ve exchanged messages with the user who might’ve blocked you, check your Direct inbox. You can either use it as a shortcut to their profile or try sending them a message. If the user has blocked you, your messages won’t be delivered.

Check Your Comments

Instagram will remove the user’s likes and comments from your photos and videos when you block them. But their previous likes and comments won’t disappear from your profile. If you remember them commenting on a post of yours, try and find that comment. Next, click on their profile photo or username to open their profile. The account owner has blocked you if their profile displays a “No Posts Yet” message. The “User not found” message might indicate that the person has blocked you or that they’ve deactivated or deleted their account.

Search for Their Profile Using a Link

Instagram assigns a unique URL to each created account. The URL includes the account’s username. If you believe a person has blocked you on Instagram, try searching for their profile using their unique URL.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open your mobile or desktop browser.
  2. Enter https://www.instagram.com/ into the address bar.
  3. Hit “Send” on your mobile or “Enter” on your PC.

If they haven’t blocked you, their profile page will appear. The “Sorry, this page isn’t available” message might have several explanations:

  • You’ve entered the wrong link
  • They’ve changed their username
  • They’ve deactivated their account
  • They’ve deleted their account
  • They’ve blocked you

After double-checking the link, you can eliminate the other options by performing the search in an incognito browser. The person in question has blocked you if you can see their profile page from the incognito browser.

Search for Their Profile Using Another Instagram Account

When you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to search for your profile anymore. Alternatively, your profile will pop up, but the blocked user can only see an error message on your page.

Deactivated or deleted accounts won’t be visible to anyone. You can make another Instagram profile or simply use your friend’s phone to look up the desired Instagram handle. If the other Instagram profile doesn’t encounter problems with displaying the account, the owner has blocked your primary account.

Check Group Messages

When you block an Instagram user after being in the same group message, you’ll be given an option to leave the group or stay there. If you choose to stay, you’ll be able to see the group messages from the person you’ve blocked and vice-versa.

When suspecting that a person you’ve shared a group message with has blocked you, head to that conversation. Seeing their messages in the group, but not their profile when you click on it, means they’ve blocked you.

Try Following the Account

Try hitting the “Follow” button when you encounter a profile with the “No Posts Yet” message. If you can follow them straight away, there might’ve been a glitch causing the issue. However, if you can’t follow the account or receive an error message, the user in question has blocked you.

It’s Good to Know

Realizing that a person has blocked you might be a hard pill to swallow, but it beats not knowing what happened. Using the methods outlined in this guide, you will figure out who blocked you, but the why is open to interpretation.

Have you ever discovered that someone has blocked you on Instagram? How did you find out? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos