How to Delete a Folder in Dropbox

Dropbox is a great platform for storing data for work and personal use. However, the time may come when you want to clean up the interface. Whether it’s to free up storage space or get rid of unnecessary stuff, removing folders from your Dropbox account is the best way to go.

But how exactly do you do so?

If you’re looking for ways to delete a Dropbox folder, you’ve come to the right spot. We’ll provide step-by-step instructions on how to delete your Dropbox folder on a PC, iPhone, and Android.

How to Delete a Folder in Dropbox on a PC

Dropbox lets you permanently delete any folder from your account. Freeing your storage is a good idea if you’re done using a folder or are running out of space. You can remove all Dropbox folders as long as you’re the owner.

Follow the steps below to remove a regular folder from your Dropbox account on a PC using the online app:

  1. Log into your Dropbox account.
  2. Select “All files” from the left-hand sidebar.
  3. Hover over the folder you want to delete and click on the ellipsis.
  4. Select “Delete.”
  5. Click “Delete” to confirm your action.

The folders deleted with the steps above will end up in your Dropbox trash bin. You can delete all folders that you own permanently by following the steps below:

  1. Log into your Dropbox account.
  2. Follow the steps above to remove a folder.
  3. Open the “Deleted files” section from the left-hand sidebar.
  4. Check the box next to a folder you want to delete.
  5. Select “Permanently Delete.”
  6. Click “Permanently Delete” again to verify your action.

You can permanently remove any folder you own without the possibility of restoring it. The only exception to this rule is if you’re the admin of a Dropbox Business team account and you’re the only person who’s taken action on a folder without being an admin.

In some cases, Dropbox Business team users aren’t able to delete folders permanently if the admin has limited their privileges. Also, permanently deleting files in the “Deleted files” section doesn’t affect the storage quota.

Besides deleting a Dropbox folder using the web app, you can also delete a local folder from your computer.

Doing so will delete the folder in your online Dropbox account as well. So, if you use a desktop Dropbox app on your PC, follow the steps below:

  1. Open your Dropbox folder on your PC.
  2. Right-click on the folder you want to delete.
  3. Select “Delete” for Windows or “Move to Trash” for Mac computers.

Alternatively, you can drag any Dropbox folder that you want to delete into the trash bin for both Windows and Mac computers.

Remove Shared Folders on Dropbox on a PC

When it comes to shared folders, you can have them removed temporarily or permanently. To permanently remove a shared folder, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to dropbox.com.
  2. Navigate to “All files” from the left-hand sidebar.
  3. Hover over the folder you want to delete and click on the ellipsis.
  4. Select “Delete.”

To temporarily remove a shared folder, follow the steps below:

  1. Log into your Dropbox account.
  2. Select “All files” from the left-hand sidebar.
  3. Hover over the folder and select the share icon with a person on it.
  4. Select “[x] people have access.”
  5. Find your name and select the dropdown next to it.
  6. Select “Remove my access.”

Be careful not to remove Dropbox folders by accident. If you do so, the owner will have to invite you to that folder again.

It may so happen that you can’t see the shared folder options when trying to delete a folder. If this happens, disable browser extensions or add-ons currently running. After that, proceed to remove the shared folder and re-enable the extensions.

You may also keep using the extensions and make Dropbox an exception. Just note that some extensions don’t support this functionality.

How to Delete a Folder in Dropbox on the iPhone App

The Dropbox iPhone app is packed with features. You don’t have to use the desktop version to remove files or folders – it can all be done through your phone. Follow the steps below to remove a folder in Dropbox on the iPhone app:

  1. Launch the Dropbox app on your iPhone.
  2. Access the list of all your folders and files.
  3. Tap on the ellipsis next to the name of the folder you want to remove.
  4. Tap on “Folder Settings.”
  5. Select “Delete Folder.”

This will delete that folder from your iPhone, the website, and all devices linked to that Dropbox account. When you delete a folder, it will be stored under the “Deleted files” section. It won’t, however, affect your storage space anymore. To permanently remove a folder, open the “Deleted files” section and remove the folder from there.

Remove a Shared Folder on the iPhone App

If you want to remove a shared folder from your Dropbox account using an iPhone, follow the steps below:

  1. Log into your iPhone Dropbox app.
  2. Open the list of all files and folders on your account.
  3. Tap on the ellipsis next to the name of the shared folder you want to delete.
  4. Select “Shared Folder Settings” from the bottom of the menu.
  5. Tap “Remove from My Dropbox.”
  6. Select “Remove from My Dropbox” again to verify.

You’ll no longer see that shared folder on your Dropbox. You can add it once again by following the instructions shared by Dropbox as you remove the folder.

How to Delete a Folder in Dropbox on the Android App

Android users can delete folders in two ways – from their local memory or Dropbox account.

To delete a folder from your Android phone’s local memory, you have to clear your cache folder. The files from your Dropbox account are saved in your phone’s cache memory whenever you open them from the app. You can delete these files following the steps below:

  1. Start the Dropbox app and tap on the “Menu” button from the left-hand of the screen. It’s an icon with three horizontal lines.
  2. Navigate to “Settings” and tap on “Clear Cache.”

To delete a folder from your Dropbox account, follow the steps below:

  1. Start the Dropbox app on your Android device and find the folder you want to delete.
  2. Tap on the blue arrow next to the folder.
  3. Select “Delete” to remove the file from your Dropbox account, the phone, and all devices connected to the account.

When you delete a folder from your Dropbox, it will be stored under the “Deleted files” section. To permanently remove a folder, open the section and remove the folder from there.

Remove a Shared Folder on the Android App

Android users can also remove a shared folder using their Android app. To remove a folder someone else shared, follow the steps below:

  1. Open your Dropbox app and log in.
  2. Locate the shared folder you want to delete and bring it into view.
  3. Tap on “Shared folder settings.”
  4. Hit the “Remove from my Dropbox” gray button.
  5. Select “Remove from my Dropbox” to confirm.

If you want to remove a folder you shared, follow the steps below:

  1. Log into your Dropbox app.
  2. Locate the folder you want to remove and tap on “Shared folder settings.”
  3. Tap “Unshare” from the bottom of the screen.
  4. Confirm the action.
  5. Now that the folder is unshared, you can delete it from Dropbox following the steps provided earlier in this section.

Additional FAQ

How do I delete a folder from Dropbox but not my computer?

Dropbox doesn’t allow deleting folders from a Dropbox account and simultaneously keeping them on local computer storage. The two folders synchronize automatically and removing any files from a Dropbox account will also remove them from local computer storage. However, there is a workaround.

To preserve a file on your computer after deleting it online, simply move it from the local Dropbox folder to another folder on your computer. You can move it to My Documents, Desktop, or anywhere else. Once you do, you can delete the folder from your Dropbox account without losing the files on your computer.

Tidying Up Your Dropbox Account

Dropbox gives users plenty of freedom when it comes to managing folders. You can remove both regular and shared folders temporarily or permanently, whether you access the app from your PC or smartphone. Remember that you can remove any folder under your Dropbox account only if you have ownership over it. The two exceptions are Business Dropbox team account holders and the sole person active in a folder.

This article has given you detailed steps on how to remove a Dropbox folder from your account across devices. Should you have any questions, feel free to drop us a comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos