How to Remove Contacts in Messenger
If you use Facebook Messenger, you’re probably used to getting spam messages and texts from people you don’t know. That can be pretty annoying, and sometimes it’s not easy to find the option for removing a contact from your Messenger app. With billions of users, the Messenger app still doesn’t look easy to use when it comes to questions like these. Settings on Messenger are a little confusing, but with these instructions, removing a contact from the app will be a piece of cake.
In this article, you’ll find out more about the options on Messenger, and how to remove, block, or unfriend an unwanted contact.
Removing Contacts in Messenger
If you’re a Facebook Messenger user, you probably know that there’s no option to delete a contact in the settings. However, some options will stop you from seeing annoying contacts in Messenger. Also, there are a few options where you can remove the contact altogether if you’re fed up with them. Instead of just deleting the chat with a person, you can remove them from your friend list permanently.
Here’s how you can remove your contacts from Messenger:
- Open the Messenger app and log in.
- The “Chats” screen will automatically appear. In the bottom right of your screen, click on the “People” icon.
- Click on the contact book that pops up in the top right corner of the screen.
- All your contacts from Messenger will be available to view.
- Find the contact you want to be removed and click on them. Your chat with that person will open up.
- Click on the information icon in the top right corner.
- In the next window, find the “Block” option.
As there’s no delete button in Messenger, blocking your contact is a good alternative. With the “Block” button, you’ll no longer be able to receive messages or calls from that contact. However, their account on Facebook won’t be blocked, and you will still see their posts, stories, comments, etc. Also, if you’re in a shared group chat with a blocked contact, you’ll still be able to communicate with them and see what they write.
To completely remove a contact, you’ll have to block them on Facebook as well.
How to Restrict Contacts on Messenger
If the “Block” option is too cruel for you, there are alternatives to seeing less from certain people in the Messenger app. If you want to restrict content from a contact without blocking them, this is what you need to do:
- Open the Messenger app and log in.
- From the “Chats” screen, click on the “People” icon in the bottom right.
- Next, click on the icon resembling a contact book.
- Now you can find the contact you want to restrict from your contact list and click on them.
- The chat with that person will open.
- Click on the the info icon in the top right corner.
- Scroll down the new window and click on the “Restrict.”
Restricting a contact will:
- Remove them from your chat list
- Stop any notifications from them
- Hide your status
- Not let them see when you’re online
- Not notify them that you restricted them
The restrict button will only be available for people you previously had a conversation with. For contacts you haven’t chatted with, only the “Block” button will appear.
How to Remove a Contact in Group Chat on Messenger
When you block a certain contact, they remain available for communication in a group chat. If you want to remove them from the group chat, follow these steps:
- Open Messenger app.
- Find the group chat with unwanted contact.
- Click on the info icon and find the option “See members.”
- All the members in the group chat will be displayed.
- Click on the one you want to remove and tap the “Remove from group” option.
Note that you can only remove someone from the group chat in Messenger if you’re an admin of the group. If not, the “Remove from group” option won’t appear on your screen. Instead, you can block that person. To find the “Block” option, follow the same steps outlined above.
How to Remove Phone Contacts on Messenger
You may get overwhelmed with annoying messages from your friends on Facebook Messenger, but also from people in the phone book on your device. Your Messenger app is probably synced with your device, and that’s why you’re receiving messages from people who aren’t on your friend list on Facebook.
If you only want to see messages from Facebook friends, this is how you remove non-friends on Messenger:
- Open the Messenger app.
- In the top left corner, click on the icon with your profile picture.
- In the new window, scroll down until you find the option “Phone Contacts.”
- There you’ll find all contacts that were added to your Messenger.
- Next click on the option “Manage Contacts.”
- To remove all the contacts from the phone, click on the “Delete All Contacts” option.
If you don’t want to remove your phone contacts altogether, you can do it one by one, selecting only the ones you don’t want to see on Messenger. All you have to do is find them in your contact list, open your chat with them, find the info icon, and tap the “Block” option.
Another option is to turn off the automatic sync. That way, you’ll only have your Facebook friends on the Messenger app. Here’s how it’s done:
- Open the Messenger and click on the profile icon in the top left corner.
- Scroll down until you find the option “Phone Contacts.”
- Click on the “Upload Contacts” option
- There you can turn off syncing easily by clicking the option “Turn Off.”
How to Remove Contacts on Messenger by Unfriending Them
A good way to remove annoying contacts from Messenger is unfriending them on Facebook. By doing so, you won’t get any messages from them on either app. To unfriend someone via Messenger, follow these steps.
- Open Messenger app.
- Click on the “People” option in the bottom right corner of the screen.
- Find the contact list by clicking on the icon resembling a phone book.
- Select the contact and your chat will open up.
- Find the info icon and click on it.
- After that, you’ll find the option “Profile” right under their picture.
- You’ll be directed to your Facebook account where you can unfriend them.
Choose Whom You Want to Communicate With
The options on Messenger can be confusing at times. But there are ways to remove, block, restrict, or unfriend someone you don’t want to communicate with anymore. They will know that you’ve blocked them, however. Facebook will let them know or they can see for themselves. If they can’t see your profile picture or can’t write to you anymore, it means you blocked them. People have a big number of conversations on their chatting apps, so they may not even notice they’ve been blocked.
Have you ever removed a contact from Facebook Messenger? Did you use any of the tips and tricks featured in this article? Tell us in the comments section below.