What Does ”Other Viewers” Mean for Facebook Stories?
People sharing collections of videos and photos in the form of stories is a popular social media feature. Stories are entertaining, engaging and create intimacy with friends, family, and customers. Whenever you post a Facebook story, it is advertised for all to see right at the top of your newsfeed; tempting your visitors to take a quick peek.
If you’re seeing the “Other people viewed this story” message and want to know what it means, we explain its meaning in this article, so read on. In addition, our FAQ section includes some helpful tips to control who gets to see your Facebook stories.
Who Are Other Viewers?
“Other Viewers” are people that have viewed your Facebook story but are not your Facebook friends. So anyone other than your friends will be counted as “Other Viewers.” These people can consist of your followers or anyone on Facebook and Messenger.
By default, your story’s privacy settings are set to “Friends only.” When the setting has been changed to “Public,” anyone can view it.
Can I See View Their Profiles or See Their Names?
Facebook has decided to keep the identities of the other viewers of your Facebook stories confidential. Therefore, you’ll only know of how many “others” there were and that they’d be a combination of Facebook and Messenger users or your followers.
How Do I Change the Privacy of My Facebook Stories?
Anything added to your Facebook stories will show on Facebook and Messenger and be shared with the same audience for both apps. If you prefer not to have any and everyone view your Facebook stories, you can manage who sees your Facebook Stories under “Privacy Settings”
Can You See How Many Times Someone Views Your Facebook Story?
No, you can’t tell whether someone has repeatedly viewed your Facebook story or only viewed it once. However, you can see the number of times your story has been viewed.
Which Others Have Been Viewing Your Facebook Stories
In Facebook stories, you can create and share your own short, entertaining, video, and photo collections to view. These stories are fleeting, though, and eventually disappear after 24-hours.
Since the platform assumes that you want all your stories viewable by people you know, the default privacy setting for stories is “Friends” only. However, you can open your stories to the entire world when you set privacy options to “Public.” In the case of the latter, viewers who are not your Facebook friends will be counted as “Other Viewers” or “Other People.”
To protect everybody’s privacy, Facebook does not reveal “other” identities. If you prefer to see everyone that views your stories, you can change the setting back to “Friends.”
How often do you post Facebook Stories? Can you remember a time when you had a high number of views? Tell us what you think in general about Facebook Stories in the comments section.