How To Remove A Device From Netflix: Deactivate And Disconnect Your Account On Unwanted Devices

Netflix is an excellent streaming service that allows you to share your login credentials with other users so that they too can enjoy the outstanding content without having to pay for their own subscription. Unfortunately, even the highest tier packages limit how many people can watch at one time.

If you’ve shared your Netflix password with another person, you no longer use and old device, or your Netflix account is compromised you can deactivate a device. This means that anyone watching content will be logged out. Coupled with the option to change your password, you can permanently remove someone from your Netflix account.

Remove a Device from Netflix

Whatever your reasons, removing a device from your Netflix account is simple and fast. You can also see the login activity of your account when doing this so pay attention to any devices you do not own and remove those too.

Step 1

Go to Netflix.com and log in.

Step 2

Click on one of the profiles listed so that you can access the settings menu.

Step 3

Hover over your profile image (or the green icon if you haven’t set a profile picture) and click on “Your Account” from the dropdown menu.

Step 4

Once open, select “Sign out of all devices” under the “Settings” section.

You’ll then be asked to confirm your choice, click “Sign Out”.

Once signed out, you can begin to sign back in on the devices you use Netflix without the worry of stray logins.

Reviewing Your Login History

If you’d like to see what devices are currently using your Netflix account you can see a list of the IP addresses and locations that have accessed your account.

Rather than clicking the ‘Sign out of all devices’ option, click ‘Recent device streaming activity’ instead. This will show you a list of all the devices that are logged in, or have logged into your account.

Once this is done, it’s a good idea to update your Netflix password and verify that all of your account information (for example, your payment method and email) are up-to-date.

To do this, head back over to the Account page you started at and choose the options on the right to update your password, change your email, etc.

After your Netflix account is secure and you have all of your old devices removed you won’t have an issue with streaming content. In the name of account security and privacy, it’s a good idea to do this every so often. Fortunately, Netflix makes it extremely simple to update and secure your account.

I logged everyone out so why are they still watching?

Per the disclaimer, it can take up to eight hours for all devices to get the boot.

What if I think someone is using my Netflix account?

You can check your watch history and your login history for proof that someone is logged into your account who shouldn’t be. If that’s the case, follow the steps above to remove them.

Why don’t I see the options in the Netflix app?

The Netflix app automatically routes users to their phone’s default web browser for a lot of account management options. Simply follow the prompts to get to your browser then follow the same steps listed above.

Can I deactivate my Netflix account?

Yes, absolutely! Visit the account page and click on the ‘Cancel Membership’ button. Take note of your next billing date when canceling. You can still stream Netflix until that date and there aren’t any partial refunds if you want to cancel early.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.