How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on GroupMe
What happens when someone blocks you on GroupMe? Can you even tell if you’ve been blocked? And is there anything you can do about it?
In the turbulent world of social media and messaging apps, these are the kinds of questions that need answering. In this article, we’re going to explain everything you need to know about blocking members on GroupMe.
Can You Tell If You’re Blocked?
GroupMe chats often have dozens of members. Unfortunately, not everyone is always happy with the images or videos you share. This may eventually result in a member (or members) blocking you.
If you ever find yourself in such a situation, you might be dying to find out who did this. Sadly, you won’t be able to. GroupMe doesn’t allow you to see whether a member blocked you or not. Like many other instant messengers, the app doesn’t notify group members when they’ve been blocked. It’s against GroupMe’s policy.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You?
If a group member blocks you for whatever reason, there will be little to no change at chat level. You won’t know that you’ve been blocked nor who blocked you. You’ll still be able to see their messages and vice versa. To get rid of you and your messages, they will have to either remove you from the group or ask the admin to do so.
What you won’t be able to do is send direct messages to them. If you tried to send a message, it will just disappear. You won’t know whether it was delivered or not.
Can You Block Other Members?
Blocking is an individual feature and every group member can use it whenever necessary. You don’t have to be a group admin to block someone. You only need to follow a few simple steps:
- Under the main menu, click on Members.
- Choose the contact(s) you don’t want, then click Block
- When the confirmation window appears, tap Yes or Block.
At some point, you may change your mind and decide to you don’t want that person on your blocked list. To unblock a contact, do as follows:
- Open the contact list.
- Find the blocked members at the bottom of the list.
- Choose Unblock and confirm.
Note: Windows Phone 8 users aren’t able to block members, as the feature isn’t available for that platform.
Why Do I Still See Blocked Contacts in the Chat?
Blocking a group member doesn’t mean that you won’t see their messages in the group chat. They won’t disappear from the group either. Blocking only prevents a contact from sending you direct messages. Therefore, you’ll still see everything they share in the group. Luckily, you won’t be bothered by unwanted DM’s.
Can I Remove Contacts from the Group?
If you do find someone annoying, or you notice that they’re bullying other members, you have the option to remove them from the group. But keep in mind that only admins and group owners can delete contacts from the chat.
If you aren’t an admin, you can still politely ask them to remove the member in question. No one wants to feel intimidated by the content or a member’s conduct. If it’s you who created the group, it’s recommended to remove anyone who has disturbed other people in the chat.
Removing a contact is pretty straightforward and takes just a few clicks:
- Open the chat and tap on the group avatar.
- Choose Members.
- Find the person you want to remove, then tap Remove from (group name).
The procedure for removing more than one member is quite similar.
- Look for the three dots icon in the chat and click on it.
- Click on Remove members and choose people you no longer want in the group.
- Click on Remove.
Removed contacts will not be able to join the group again unless they get an invitation from other members.
Will Members Find Out They Have Been Removed?
Contacts you deleted from the chat won’t be directly notified that they’ve been removed. But the chat will disappear from their list once you delete them from the group. This means that they won’t see any chat activity. Also, they’ll be unable to send DM’s to other members as they don’t belong to the group anymore.
What About You?
Sometimes, group members disregard other people’s feelings. They constantly share inappropriate content or make inappropriate comments. This might result in blocking or even removing them from a GroupMe group. However, if they become more considerate, they can re-join at some stage.
Have you ever had any bad experiences with other group members? Have you ever blocked or removed someone from a group? Maybe you’ve been blocked yourself. Share your experiences with the rest of the community in the comments section below.