Samsung TV Model Numbers Explained

Most consumers don’t realize that Samsung models numbers have special coding schemes for identifying each HDTV’s details and history. Yes, there are specific meanings for Samsung HDTV model numbers available for North America, Europe, Asia, etc.

The codes used in the model number identify the series with the manufactured year, type of backlighting, type of screen, design changes of the same item, and much more.

Overall, Samsung TV model codes have changed several times over the years, which makes things confusing. But hopefully, this article provides enough info to identify the details of your Samsung TV model… or one that you want to purchase.

Understanding Samsung HDTV Model Numbers

To interpret Samsung TV model numbers, you need charts. Samsung developed several model code schemes, including but not limited to QLED TVs (2017 and up), HD/Full HD/UHD/SUHD TVs (2017 and up), and HD/Full HD/UHD TVs (2008-2016), which is why Samsung includes an identifier in the model number. Also, the SUHD models have the same resolution as UHD, except they add new features and enhancements.

Using this article, if your model does not reflect the correct modeling scheme found in the charts below (based on year and type), look for the one that matches closest to your model.

50-inch QLED (QN50Q60TAFXZA) and 43-inch QLED (QN43Q60TAFXZA)

When viewing the image above, you see the Class Q60T QLED 4K UHD HDR Smart TV of 2020, which has different sizes, and there are more than what is shown. The longwinded characters are the complete model numbers in the Q60 series of TVs.

For the QLED image above with model number QN50Q60TAFXZA, the following interpretation applies:

  • “Q” represents the type of screen: QLED
  • “N” represents the region: North America
  • “50” represents the size class: 50-inch (NOT the actual diagonal size)
  • “Q60T” represents the model series: Q60T series
  • “A” represents the release code, which is 1st generation
  • “F” represents the tuner type, which is USA/Canada
  • “X” represents a feature or design code for the model
  • “ZA” represents manufacturing information: for Samsung use only

Some models may use older/previous model number schemes due to transitions in labeling. For instance, The QLED TV with model number UN65KS8000FXZA is a 2016 model that should start with a “Q” and have a “Q” in the series section, but it uses the “2017 and up” model scheme for UHD TVs. Technically, it should use the “2017 and up” QLED modeling scheme.

Now that you have an “introductory” idea of how Samsung creates their model numbers, here are the details—separated by the various model code schemes.

Samsung QLED Model Number Codes for 2017 and Up

In 2017, Samsung developed new Quantum Dot screen models, known as QLED, and the model shown above is part of that series. They explored Quantum Dot technology previous to 2017 and used variations of it in some models, such as their SUHD lineup in 2016. Samsung didn’t officially market it into their models as QLED until 2017.

The technology features electronic nanocrystals that emit true monochromatic red, green, and blue light. In the image above for 2020 Samsung QLED TVs, you see the model number QN50Q60TAFXZA. The chart below decodes those numbers, and it also applies to any Samsung QLED models 2017 and up.

Samsung HD/UHD/4K/8K Model Codes for 2017 and Up

In 2017, Full HD TVs (1080p) were gradually getting replaced by UHD TVs (2160p). For UHD Samsung TVs after 2017, the model number scheme changed to reflect new features and better organization. A 2016 UHD TV had a model number like UN55KU6300, and a 2017 model was UN49M5300AFXZA. The chart below provides more details on the Non-QLED, 2017+ Samsung HD, UHD, 4K, and 8K model codes.

Samsung HD/Full HD/UHD/SUHD Model Number Codes 2008-2016

Between 2008 and 2016, Samsung produced many HD, Full HD, UHD, and SUHD TVs. “HD” features 720p resolution while “Full HD” features a resolution of 1920 x 1080 (1080p). “UHD” is 3840 x 2160 (2160p), but some models may be labeled or described as 4K or 4K UHD by manufacturers and sellers. The two are not the same. Technically speaking, 4K is the digital cinema standard (4,096 by 2,160), while UHD is consumer display quality. As for “SUHD,” it has the same resolution as UHD but with added enhancements, as previously mentioned.

Samsung model numbers between 2008 and 2016 are represented by “S” for SUHD, “U” for UHD, and “H” for Full HD. There is also a “P” for Plasma in 2014 models and earlier. The screen type is usually found in the sixth character of the model number.

Since technology has evolved into providing various display types and resolutions, Samsung added the “U” code to the beginning of the model number to represent an LED TV. In contrast, the older TVs included “H” for DLP and “P” for Plasma. The image below shows codes typically found in the 2008-2016 Samsung model numbers.

READ NEXT: What is 4K, and is it worth the money? 

Understanding Samsung TV Series

Websites tend to create confusion when it comes to Samsung TV Model descriptions, one of which includes the TV model series. One site will label the TV as Series 8 (or 8 Series) while another calls it a TU8000 Series TV. Technically, both are correct. There are TVs in the TU8000 series, and it is a series 8 TV. Another common term used in place of “Series” is “Class.” You’ll see some websites title the above series as Class 8 instead.

The Samsung UN55KS9000FXZA is a Series 9 TV in the 9000 model range. As referenced in the above model charts, 55 represents a 55-inch screen. In that same 9000 model range within Series 9, there is a 65-inch (UN65KS9000FXZA) and a 75-inch (UN75KS9000FXZA). Furthermore, there are the 9500 models that are part of Series 9 too.

All of Samsung’s TVs, regardless of screen resolution or technology, are categorized into Series based on their rank. For instance, a Series 9 TV offers Samsung’s advanced picture quality and display technology. At the lower end of the scale, a 5 Series TV is more of an entry-level model. You can also look at the series number as being a way to determine the latest models. While Series 5 TVs were once the latest and the greatest, Series 9 has brought new technology and features for better visual experiences.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.