How To Tell if Someone Blocked you on Facebook [September 2021]
Social media is a great tool used to interact with and meet others. There are times when you or someone else may be ‘blocked’ by another user. This feature is open for anyone to use for any reason.
To protect users’ privacy or the feelings of others, Facebook does not show you who blocked you. There isn’t a notification that you’ve been blocked, nor is there a list of users who’ve blocked your account.
You may wonder how you can tell if someone has blocked you?
What is the Difference Between Blocked and Unfriended?
First of all, let’s understand that there is a big difference between being blocked and unfriended. When another user unfriends you, you can still see their profile, comments on mutual pages, and any public content they share.
However, if someone blocked your account, you won’t see their profile at all. Nor will you see any comments, interactions, or updates.
In short, if someone blocks you, they effectively disappear on Facebook (at least for you). So if you don’t see them in your Friends’ list but can still see them on the site, you haven’t been blocked; you’ve been unfriended.
How to Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Facebook
Unfortunately, it can be challenging to differentiate between an account that blocked you and an account that has been deactivated. Both have similarities in that they no longer appear on Facebook, you can’t message them, and you can’t see past comments or likes.
While Facebook won’t let you know if you’ve been blocked or the other person deleted their account, there are a few things that will let know you know that you’ve undoubtedly been blocked. Let’s get right into it.
Search for Their Profile
If a friend is no longer showing up on your Timeline or in your Friends’ list, you should first search for their profile using Facebook’s user search function. This one isn’t foolproof by any means but, if you feel like you’ve been blocked based on a recent conversation or disagreement, you can ensure that you haven’t been unfriended.
If the profile doesn’t appear (and you’ve made sure you’re searching for the right name), then you’ve either been blocked you or they’ve deactivated their account.
Other People Can Still Pull Up Their Facebook Account
Ask a friend or a family member to pull up their Facebook account. This works best with a disinterested third party, someone they aren’t likely to block. If the page appears, their account has not been deactivated.
Check Your Past Group Messages in Messenger
One of the more tell-tale signs that you’ve been blocked is by checking past group messages. Pull up Facebook Messenger and scroll through your past texts until you land on a message that the individual was included in. This only works with a group message.
The person who blocked you will show up as ‘Facebook User.’ Send a message and check for a read receipt from that blank profile. If one appears, you’ve been blocked because their account is still active.
Check Posts and Comments
If you’ve just been unfriended, then you’ll still see your former friend’s activity on your wall. Have they ever posted anything to your wall? Have they ever commented on any of your posts? How about posts from mutual friends?
Their posts and comments won’t disappear from your page. However, instead of their name appearing as a clickable link, it will appear just as black bold text; this is a sure sign that you’ve been blocked.
You can use the ‘Manage Posts’ button on your Facebook profile to quickly search posts by date and tags.
Can You Tell if Someone Blocked You on Messenger?
Facebook Messenger can provide insight into your predicament. When you suspect that you’ve been blocked, you can scroll down for the messages the two of you have shared. Although they’ll appear, rather than their profile, you’ll see Facebook User.
If you use Messenger’s search bar, type in the name of the individual you’re interested in, and they will not appear. This is a key indicator that you’ve been blocked.
If you try to send them a message, you will receive a message that this person isn’t accepting Facebook messages. The “This person isn’t available” is a key indicator that your online relationship has ended.
Breaking down how Facebook works in regards to friends, blocks, and everything in between will help you understand whether someone has blocked you.
Check Their Other Social Media Accounts
Facebook owns Instagram, so similar principles apply. While it’s unlikely that someone deactivated all of their social media accounts, someone who’s no longer interested in communicating with you would likely block you on all of their accounts.
If you go to Instagram, Snapchat, or any other site and their profile does not appear; it’s probably because you’ve been blocked. If you find them there, feel free to send a message asking them if they deactivated their Facebook account.
When You Block Someone on Messenger What Do They See?
When you block someone on Facebook, they will no longer see your profile or comments you’ve made, whether it’s on their posts or someone else’s. They won’t be notified when you block them so that it won’t be immediately evident to them, but they’ll be able to figure it out once they try to search you or attempt to message you.
It won’t directly say that you’ve blocked them on Facebook messenger, but it will say the person is “unavailable” immediately after. If you’re worried they’ll get mad at you after you block them, there’s another alternative to blocking.
You can either unfriend them, spend less time on Facebook, or tell them directly that you still want to remain friends in person and do the slow fade until they leave you alone.
Consider More Than One Approach
There are other explanations for many of the above strategies. We’ve already mentioned that someone could disappear from your friend’s list simply because they unfriended you. We also talked about how someone could be unsearchable because they changed their privacy settings. Accounts can also be suspended or deleted.
Since you won’t see their profile, you won’t be able to block them in return. However, if the person unblocks you, and you can see their profile, then you can block them.
If you’re concerned about your online friendship with another person, you can always ask them if they’ve deactivated their account. The response, or lack of response, will enlighten you to what is actually going on rather than worrying about it.
If someone has blocked you in error, you can follow these steps to unblock someone:
- Go to the Facebook settings from the app or browser.
- Scroll down and click or tap on ‘Privacy.’
- Scroll down and click or tap ‘Blocking.’
- Locate the profile in question and click ‘Unblock.’
Keep in mind, doing this action means you will have to wait to block them again for a short time. If you’re unblocking someone to snoop at their profile, they’ll be able to see yours as well until you’re able to block them again.
Frequently Asked Questions
We’ve included more answers to your questions in this section.
Someone said they knew who I blocked; how is this possible?
Because Facebook doesn’t make your blocking activities publicly available, people on your friend’s list won’t know who you’ve blocked. The only logical explanation for this is that the other people knew you blocked them (as explained above) and told your acquaintance that they’d been blocked.
Of course, Facebook’s account security isn’t foolproof either. It’s possible the person in question logged into your Facebook account and looked through your Blocked list. We have some more information about securing your Facebook account here.
If someone blocks me on Facebook, can I block them in return?
Unfortunately, no. If you’re on someone’s block list, their profile won’t appear in any search results, so you simply don’t have an option to block them in return. However, if they unblock you, you can block them. You’ll need to check on their profile periodically to see if they’ve unblocked you. But once they have, you’ll have 48-hours to block them. Facebook has a policy that when you unblock someone, you cannot block them again for 48 hours.