How to Delete a Group in WhatsApp

WhatsApp groups are ideal for keeping in contact with family and friends all at once. They also provide an excellent platform to distribute information to a lot of people at one time, such as planning an event.

How to Delete a Group in WhatsApp

However, at some point, you may want to leave a WhatsApp group. Perhaps it’s become tedious or you find the constant chatter between participants distracting. Or maybe the event you were planning is over, and you no longer need the group.

No matter what your reason is for wanting to exit a WhatsApp group, the good news is it can be done easily. In this article, we look at how to delete WhatsApp groups from different devices. We also cover how to delete messages and media from a group and how you can hide a group from your view without actually leaving.

How to Delete Group in WhatsApp on the iPhone

Deleting a group on WhatsApp is relatively straightforward. You can do it as an admin or as a member. Here’s how to go about deleting a group in either of these roles.

Deleting a Group as an Admin

  1. Open the WhatsApp chat of the group you want to delete.
  2. Tap the group name at the top of the screen.
  3. Tap on the name of each member you want to remove and choose “Remove From Group” from the pop-up.
  4. The option to “Exit Group” will appear at the bottom of the screen. Tap this option.
  5. The option to “Delete Group” will pop up. Click to confirm your choice.

Deleting a Group as a Member

To delete a group as a member, follow these steps:

  1. Open the WhatsApp group you want to delete.
  2. Tap the top bar with the group’s name. The “Group Info” menu will open.
  3. Tap on “Exit Group” at the bottom of the screen. Confirm your choice if prompted.
  4. Tap “Delete Group” to delete the group permanently.

Deleting a group as a member will have no bearing on the other participants who will continue using the group as usual.

How to Delete Group in WhatsApp on the Android App

To delete a WhatsApp group on Android, follow these simple steps:

Deleting a Group as an Admin:

  1. Open the WhatsApp group.
  2. Tap the group name at the top of the screen.
  3. In the list of participants, tap the names of the participants you want to remove and select “Remove.”
  4. Once finished, scroll to the bottom of the page and tap “Exit Group.”
  5. Confirm your choice by clicking “Exit.”
  6. When the “Delete Group” option appears, tap it then confirm your choice by selecting “Delete” in the confirmation box that pops up.

Deleting a Group as a Member

  1. Open WhatsApp and navigate to the group you want to delete. Tap on the group to open the chat.
  2. Click the group name at the top of the screen.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom and tap “Exit Group.” Select “Exit” from the confirmation pop-up box.
  4. Select the “Delete Group” option that pops up. Confirm your choice by selecting “Delete.”

How to Delete a Group in WhatsApp on a PC

WhatsApp is also supported on a PC and allows you to perform all the same functions as you would on a mobile phone. For example, this is how you would go about deleting a group on WhatsApp from your PC:

  1. Log into your “web.whatsapp.com” account.
  2. Scan the QR code with your mobile phone.
  3. Click on the group you want to delete.
  4. Click on the top bar of the chat where the group’s name is displayed.
  5. When the menu with group info pops up, scroll to the bottom and click “Exit Group.” Confirm by clicking “Exit” on the pop-up box.
  6. The “Delete Group” option will appear at the bottom of the “Group Info” menu. Click on this and confirm by choosing “Delete” from the pop-up window.

How to Just Delete the Group’s Media Files

Another aspect of WhatsApp groups that may become problematic is the sheer number of images, GIFs, and video files that sometimes come with them. This media accumulates quickly and can take up a lot of storage on your phone. As a result, you may not want to delete a group but instead delete the media from this group; here’s how:

  1. Open WhatsApp. Tap the three dots at the top right of the screen.
  2. From the new menu, select “Settings.”
  3. Next, choose the “Storage and Data” option.
  4. Click on “Manage Storage.” Scroll through the list to find the group from which you want to delete the media.
  5. Click on the group to see all the media for that particular group. You can select individual images and videos (by pressing down on them to check them), or “Select All” at the top-right of the screen.
  6. After selecting, click the trash bin icon on the top-right of the screen. Click “Delete” to confirm your choice.

Deleting this media will remove it from the group chat for you but not the other participants.

How to Just Delete the Group’S Messages but Not the Group Itself?

If your group chat is becoming somewhat lengthy and is causing storage problems, you have the option to clear the messages from the group and free up storage space without leaving or deleting the group. Here is how to go about clearing your messages:

Clearing Messages on Android

  1. Open the group you want to clear.
  2. Click the three-dot icon on the top-right of the screen.
  3. Choose the option titled “More.”
  4. Tap on “Clear Chat.”
  5. A confirmation window will pop up. Check or uncheck the “Delete the Media in This Chat” box, depending on your preference. Tap “Clear” to confirm your decision.

Clearing Messages on an iPhone

  1. Open the group from which you want to clear the messages.
  2. Tap the bar at the top of the screen with the group name.
  3. Tap on the “Clear Chat” option at the bottom of the “Group Info” page.
  4. Check or uncheck the box in the pop-up window asking if you want to delete the media in the chat.
  5. Click on “Clear” to confirm your choice.

How to Delete a Group From Your View Without Leaving

If you have a group that you don’t want to participate in but don’t want to ruffle feathers by leaving, you can mute and archive the group. These actions prevent your phone from chiming each time someone contributes to the chat and removes the group from your chat registry. This is how you do it:

  1. Open the WhatsApp group in question.
  2. Tap the bar that displays the group name at the top of the screen.
  3. Scroll down the “Group Info” menu “Mute” or “Mute Notifications.” Toggle to turn it on.
  4. In the pop-up box, indicate how long you want to mute the group. Make sure the “Show Notifications” box is unchecked. Tap “OK.”

Now you have muted the group; it is time to archive it:

  1. In the list of chats on WhatsApp, find the group you want to archive. Press and hold down on this chat.
  2. At the top of the screen, tap on the “Archive” icon (the folder with a downwards pointing arrow).
  3. Once you have archived this group, it will no longer show in your list of chats.

Deleting Groups Completed

Deleting groups, messages, or media in WhatsApp is relatively straightforward once you know what to do. Follow the simple instructions in this article, and soon, you’ll be able to manage your WhatsApp groups with your eyes closed.

Have you deleted a group in WhatsApp?Did you use a process similar to those shown in this article? If you have, let us know by leaving a comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos