How to record your screen on iOS 11

Among the dozens of new features Apple shouted about in the run-up to iOS 11, one, in particular, has got users buzzing, while terrifying others – screen record.

It has been possible to record your screen on iOS for some time, using a computer via a cable, but iOS 11 has built screen recording into the software itself.

How to record your screen on iOS 11

Customize your Control Center

 To record your screen on iOS 11, you first need to customize the fancy new Control Center. In iOS 11, the Control Center is on a single screen and shows clusters of controls.

By default, these let you toggle Airplane mode on and off, disconnect Wi-Fi and Bluetooth (although this actually drops these connections for nearby devices but does not actually disable them completely), control music playback, adjust the volume and brightness, and open certain tools including torch, timer, calculator and camera.

  1. To customize these panels, go to Settings then Control Centre.


  2. Go to Customise Controls. In this menu, you will see which controls are currently included.


  3. To remove one of these controls, hit the red icon to the left of the name and click the word Remove that appears on the right.


  4. Under More Controls, press the green icon to the left of Screen Recording and it will jump into the Include list.


  5. You can change the order of this list using the three lines to the right of each name and dragging and dropping it to the desired position.

Record your screen

image_uploaded_from_ios_2

Once you have customized the Control Center, a small circular icon will appear when you swipe up from the bottom of the display. This is the Screen Record icon.

Whenever you want to record your screen on iOS, swipe up to open the Control Center and press this Screen Recording icon. Everything on your screen is now being recorded.

READ NEXT: What’s new in iOS 11?

While you are recording your screen, a red bar will sit along the top of the display to tell you it is still recording. Once you’ve finished recording your screen, press this red bar and a pop-up will appear and you can either press cancel to continue recording, or press Stop to end the recording.

The screen record is saved in your Camera Roll and can be shared with friends, upload to social networks, or you can edit it using Clips or iMovie.

img_1531

Images: Alphr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.