How To Archive or Unarchive Instagram Posts

When Instagram introduced the archive, it didn’t get much fanfare and went unnoticed by many users. If you missed it, here is everything you need to know.

How To Archive or Unarchive Instagram Posts

Rather than users deleting content and losing the company’s potential revenue, Instagram offers a way to save it for later. It’s also beneficial to personal users because they can bring up seasonal images or posts and adjust them with ease. Rather than deleting the post completely, you can now archive it to take it away from the public’s eye. You can still view the post privately to use at a later date, but nobody else sees it.

Using the Instagram Archive

The Instagram archive contains a section for “Stories,” “Live” streams, and “Posts.” The “Stories” and “Live” streams automatically get saved, while “Posts” is an opt-in feature that you must use manually. Instagram does not automatically archive “Older” posts like other systems.

To archive a post on Instagram:

  1. Select a post you want to store.


  2. Tap on the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal dots) at the top of the page.


  3. Select the “Archive” option.


How to Access the Instagram Archive

When you archive a post, it remains there until you manually delete it or un-archive it. Instagram Archive is split between posts, stories, and live.

To access the Instagram archive:

  1. Open “Instagram” on your “profile page” and select the “hamburger icon” (three horizontal lines) menu in the top right section.


  2. Choose “Archive” to view your archived posts.


  3. The “Archive” menu displays your automatically archived stories first by default. To see lives or posts, tap on the “downward arrowhead” next to “Stories Archive” and select either option.

As mentioned above, the archive is for you only and is not publicly viewable.

Unarchive Instagram posts

It is a very straightforward process if you want to bring a post out of hibernation and back into your profile. You need to go into your Instagram archive and select the option to show on your profile again.

  1. Open “Instagram” on your “profile page.” Select the “hamburger icon” (three horizontal lines) menu in the top right section.


  2. Choose “Archive.”


  3. Tap on the “downward arrowhead” next to “Stories Archive” and select “Posts Archive.”


  4. Choose the post you want to un-archive and select the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal dots) menu icon.


  5. Choose “Show on Profile.” from the listed options.


The post becomes “live” once more and is publicly viewable.

If you prefer to delete your archived post instead of making it public, you can. Just select “Delete” instead of “Show on Profile.” Your post gets deleted forever and is not recoverable. Sometimes that’s a good thing!


In closing, the Instagram archive feature is a neat idea that gives you control over what others see, whether for personal use or business. While we are gradually adjusting to the temporal nature of online life, some things are worth keeping for the longer term. If you don’t keep those memories close, at least you can preserve them on Instagram.

For social media savvy businesses, this is a way of using posts and media multiple times or for seasonal offers that repeat annually or regularly. Why create a Christmas offer each year if you can archive and tweak it and then make it public again? As for personal use, the Instagram archive feature lets you store posts or images you might want to reuse later, hold onto for personal reference, or even adjust them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos