How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord
You might wonder why some Discord users are invisible to you or unreachable when you’ve previously had a conversation with them. Internet problems aside, another user may have blocked you at one point or another. When blocked, you can’t contact them with that account at all.
Finding out if you’re blocked is pretty simple, as you can use one of several methods. Unfortunately, you cannot do much about it since the person has chosen not to interact with you. Read on to learn the details of how this process works.
How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord
The easiest way to check if someone blocked you is to send them a private message. Usually, if you can send them a message, they haven’t blocked you, and you can breathe a sigh of relief.
However, you’ll know right away that you’re blocked when you access your chat logs with said person. Clyde, Discord’s official bot, will appear and show you an error message. He’d say that your message couldn’t be delivered due to one of these reasons:
- You don’t share servers with the recipient
- You disabled direct messages on the shared servers you’re both in
- The recipient will only accept messages from friends
Clyde will also include a link to a complete list of possible reasons you’re blocked. However, he won’t tell you why you can’t send a message to the person.
That said, if you were recently talking to this person and now can’t send any messages to them, you were likely blocked at some point.
Another way to find out if you added the person as a friend is to check your friend’s list. If they disappeared from it, that is another sign that they probably blocked you.
How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord Without Messaging Them
Here is one method of discovering whether someone has blocked you without sending them a message. This time, you’ll be sending them a friend request instead.
Here’s what to do:
- Go to the Home menu on Discord and head to the Friends menu.
- From here, select Add Friend.
- Type in the person’s Discord username and tag and click Send Friend Request.
- If your account is blocked, it won’t go through.
That’s another surefire sign to check. Alternatively, if you know the person shares a server with you, you can pull up their profile and click Add Friend from there as well. This method is less cumbersome.
Check if Your Blocked using Discord Message Reactions
Thankfully, there’s another way to check if someone blocked you. You don’t have to type out a long-winded message before finding out it was all for nothing. You can react to another user’s message with an emote on Discord.
If you think that you were blocked, try reacting to one of their messages on a server you both share. The emote will appear if they haven’t blocked you. However, if you’re on a PC, the screen will vibrate slightly.
Mobile users have a more distinct sign. They’ll get an alert with “Reaction Blocked” on it. This moment is when you’ll know someone has blocked you.
Given Discord’s design, you can use their message reactions to determine if someone blocks you.
- Open up Discord and proceed to a message by the person you suspect blocked you. Hover over the message.
- Click on the Reaction icon. Then, click an emoji.
- Now, react to their message and see if it appears; if it does, then you haven’t been blocked by them.
What Can I Do if Someone Blocks Me?
Frankly, there’s nothing you can do about it since your current account has no way to reach out to the other user. You can make a new Discord account and contact them, but you can’t contact them if they don’t allow messages from non-friends.
The next best thing is probably to ask some mutual friends to help. Your mutual friends who haven’t been blocked can still contact the other person and help mediate.
If you still have questions about Discord’s blocking system, keep reading.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Discord?
When you block someone on Discord, you no longer see their messages. You can occasionally see “1 Blocked Message” if you both still share a server. That’s a stark reminder that you blocked the person.
If you’re curious enough, you can choose to unveil what the message says. Otherwise, you can go on with browsing the channels.
Why Doesn’t Discord Tell Me if I’m Blocked?
Discord employs a “no evidence and no alertness” policy when it comes to blocking other users. The procedure is designed to prevent users from finding out and making a big deal out of it. Unless you wish to find out, you’ll have no way to know if someone blocked you.
Can I stay in a channel with someone who blocked me?
Yes! Even if someone in a channel with you blocks you, you can stay. However, any messages or content they send in that channel won’t be immediately viewable (similar to any other user).
What happens if someone blocks a moderator?
Discord lets server admins add moderators who have special permissions within a server or channel. Blocking a moderator isn’t much different from blocking any other user in a channel. The moderator can still choose to view your posts, ban you, etc.
Why Can’t I Reach Them?
Discord doesn’t seem to be revising its “no alertness and no evidence” policy anytime soon. Thus, these tricks to finding out if you were blocked are here to stay. Knowing one of these tricks will help you determine if someone doesn’t want to talk to you.
Have you been blocked on Discord? How many users have you blocked? Let us know in the comments section below.