How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp

If you use WhatsApp regularly, you’ll know how frustrating it is to send a message to the wrong chat or send something and quickly change your mind. If you’re panicking and looking for a way to get rid of the message, you’ve come to the right place.

How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp

Read on to learn how to delete a WhatsApp message.

How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp on a PC

There are two ways to use WhatsApp on your PC. You can go through your browser and access WhatsApp Web or download the desktop app. Regardless of the version, you can delete a WhatsApp message in a few simple clicks.

Delete a Message for Everyone

It’s easy to make a mistake, even with the convenience of typing out the message on your keyboard. If you’ve realized you sent a message containing an error, you can delete the message for everyone involved in the conversation. It doesn’t matter if the conversation is between you and an individual or a group chat.

Deleting a WhatsApp message involves the same steps on both the web and app versions.

  1. Navigate to the chat containing the message you want to delete.
  2. Hover over the message to reveal the menu icon (down-pointing arrow).
  3. Click on the “Menu.”
  4. Select “Delete Message.”
  5. Choose “Delete for everyone” in the pop-up window.

You’ll know you’ve been successful if it now reads: “You deleted this message.”

Keep in mind that you’re working within a time frame. You’re only given about an hour to delete a message for everyone in the conversation. After that, you’ll only be able to delete the message for yourself.

Delete a Message for Yourself

When you want to clean up the conversation on your end, you can choose to only delete a message for yourself. This will have no impact on the recipient’s chats, and they’ll be able to still see the deleted message.

Follow these steps to delete a WhatsApp message for yourself:

  1. Open the chat containing the message you want to delete.
  2. Hover over the message for the menu icon (down-pointing arrow) to appear.
  3. Click on the “Menu.”
  4. Select “Delete Message.”
  5. Choose “Delete for me” when prompted.

The deleted message will disappear.

If more than an hour has passed since you sent the message, you’ll only be given the option to delete it for yourself.

How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp on an iPhone

People make mistakes, so app developers make it easy to correct them. If you spotted a typo in your WhatsApp message or changed your mind about its content, you can delete it in a few taps.

Delete a Message for Everyone

You must act fast if you’ve sent a message you don’t want anyone to see. Be aware that you’re given a one-hour deadline to delete the message. Also, there’s no telling how quickly the recipients will reach for their phones. Fortunately, deleting a message for everyone in an individual or group chat is relatively quick:

  1. Locate the message you want to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message.
  3. Select “Delete.”
  4. Hit the trash can icon in the bottom-left corner of your screen.
  5. Press “Delete for everyone.”

After selecting delete, checkmark boxes will appear next to all your messages in the chat. You can check multiple messages and proceed following the same steps.

The deleted messages will be replaced with a “This message was deleted” note.

However, there’s a way for iPhone users to still see deleted messages if they contain media. Namely, the media you sent might be saved to their Photos folder and can’t be deleted by removing the message from the chat.

Delete a Message for Yourself

If you realize your mistake after more than an hour, WhatsApp will only give you the option to delete the message for yourself. This can be helpful if you don’t want to look at the message or simply clean up the chat.

To delete a message for yourself, do the following:

  1. Find the message you want to delete.
  2. Long-tap the message.
  3. Select “Delete.”
  4. Press the trash can icon at the bottom left.
  5. Tap “Delete for me” when prompted.

The deleted message will be gone without leaving anything behind.

How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp on an Android

If you’re exchanging dozens of WhatsApp messages daily, mistakes will inevitably happen. You might send a message to the wrong chat or use the right chat but the wrong spelling. Whatever the case may be, you can delete that message as quickly as you sent it.

Delete a Message for Everyone

WhatsApp allows you to delete a message for everyone, be it an individual or a group chat. Here’s what to do:

  1. Go to the chat with the message you want to remove.
  2. Tap and hold the message.
  3. Press the trash can icon in the upper-right corner of your screen.
  4. Choose “Delete for everyone” in the pop-up window.

A successfully deleted message will be replaced with “You deleted this message.”

Remember that the recipient might still see your message before you delete it. You’re only given around an hour to use the “Delete for everyone” option. After that, you can only delete the message for yourself.

Delete a Message for Yourself

Although the recipient will still be able to see the message in their chat screen, deleting a message for yourself can be helpful.

Here’s how to remove a message on your end only:

  1. Open the chat with the message you want to delete.
  2. Long-tap the message.
  3. Hit the trash can icon at the upper right.
  4. Tap “Delete for me” when prompted.

How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp on an iPad

If you’re fond of using your iPad for messaging, you might’ve noticed the absence of a compatible WhatsApp version. The bad news is that WhatsApp is still developing an iPad app. The good news is that this doesn’t mean you can’t use WhatsApp on your iPad.

WhatsApp Web is a great alternative offering most of the app’s features, including the ability to delete a message.

Delete a Message for Everyone

When using WhatsApp Web, you can remove a message for everyone in the individual or group chat for one hour. Here’s how:

  1. Open the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap the menu icon on the message (an arrow pointing down).
  3. Select “Delete Message.”
  4. Choose “Delete for everyone” when prompted.

The message will now read: “This message was deleted.”

Delete a Message for Yourself

Deleting a message only on your end doesn’t impact the recipient’s chat. Still, it’s the only option left if you realize your mistake too late. To delete a WhatsApp message for yourself, do the following:

  1. Open the chat with the message you want to delete.
  2. Click on the menu icon on the message (an arrow pointing down).
  3. Select “Delete Message.”
  4. Choose “Delete for me” in the pop-up menu.

Out of Sight, Out of Mind

Whether you made plans with a chat then quickly changed your mind or misspelled an embarrassingly simple word, this guide has got your back. Deleting a WhatsApp message is relatively easy and only takes a few clicks or swipes. If you’re quick enough, you can delete the message for everyone but deleting the message for yourself only has its perks too.

Have you ever deleted a WhatsApp message? Did you manage to delete it for everyone? Let us know in the comments section below.

One thought on “How to Delete a Message in WhatsApp”

Hev says:
This is so out of date. Please update or delete it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos