How to Block Direct Messaging on Instagram

The instant messaging featurefor Instagram has been around for quite a few years. People use direct messagesor DMs to share Instagram content with each other and to chat casually.

Despite the fact that Instagramis a very user-friendly platform, there is an official way to completely turnoff the DM feature. However, there are workarounds that will make sure that youcan’t be bothered by direct messages.

Multiple Workarounds

There are multiple workaroundsto not receive DMs ever. Here’s how to approach this on Android, iOS, and desktops.

Private Profile

As long as your profile isPublic, anyone can send you messages. They don’t need your approval to do it. Ifyou find this annoying, there’s an excellent solution. With a Private profile,only your followers can message you directly and you need to approve followers.So, here’s how to make your profile Private. Bear in mind that Creator Accountscannot be private.

Android and iOS

  1. Open the Instagram app
  2. Go to your profile by tapping your profile icon
  3. Tap the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines)
  4. Tap Settings
  5. Select Privacy
  6. Flip the switch next to Private Account

Desktop

  1. Go to Instagram.com and log in
  2. Click your profile icon, located in the upper-right corner of the browser
  3. Select Settings
  4. Navigate to Privacy and Security in the left panel
  5. Toward the top of the screen, under Account Privacy, check the box next to Private Account

Turning Off Notifications

Okay, so you can’t turn DMs offaltogether. But if notifications are what bothers you, you can turn these off veryquickly.

Android and iOS

  1. Tap your profile icon
  2. Tap Your Activity
  3. Navigate to the Time tab
  4. Select Notification Settings
  5. If you want to turn off notifications for DMs only, tap Direct Messages and customize the settings
  6. Alternatively, if you want all notifications to be turned off, flip the switch on next to Pause All

As you can see, you can pausenotifications for various Instagram features.

Desktop

  1. Go to your Instagram profile
  2. Go to Settings
  3. Select Push Notifications in the panel to the left
  4. Scroll down to Instagram Direct Requests
  5. Select Off

Unfortunately, desktop optionsare limited. If you want better customizability, use your mobile/tablet device.

Declining Messages

When someone whom you don’tfollow sends you a message, the DM won’t land directly in your inbox. You willbe notified (unless you’ve turned this option off) but the message will land inthe Message Requests tab, so theperson won’t see if you’ve read the message. DMs in the Message Requests tab canbe accepted or declined. If you accept such a message, it will be transferredto your inbox. If you reject the request, the message will be deleted.

Now, the cool thing with thisfeature is that you can delete a number of these requests at once. If you get alot of such requests, simply tap DeleteAll and all requests are going to be deleted.

  1. Go to your inbox bytapping/clicking the DM arrow icon
  2. Select the Message Requests tab (if you have norequests at the moment, the tab won’t show)
  3. Tap/Click Delete All

Restricting an Account

If you are tired of hearingfrom someone and want to have their messages directed straight to the MessageRequests tab, you can always Restrict any account you please. Additionally,you’ll get to control if others can see their comments on your posts. Mostimportantly, you won’t need to unfollow or block them, so the account will haveno way of knowing that you’ve restricted them.

Android and iOS

There are two ways to restrictpeople on Instagram. Here’s the first method:

  1. Go to your DM conversation with that person
  2. Tap the “i” icon in the upper-right corner
  3. Select Restrict

And the second method:

  1. Go to the person’s profile
  2. Tap Following
  3. Tap Restrict
  4. Tap Restrict Account

Desktop

  1. Go to the person’s account
  2. Click the three-dot icon in the upper-right part of their profile
  3. Select Restrict
  4. Click Restrict Account to confirm

Blocking an Account

Blocking an account will resultin that person not being able to find your profile, story, or posts onInstagram. Of course, this automatically goes for DMing as well. AlthoughInstagram won’t let the account know that you’ve blocked them, they might findout when they can’t find your profile.

Android and iOS

Blocking people on mobiledevices works the same way as Restricting them. Navigate to the same options asfor Restriction, but select Blockthis time. Then, simply confirm.

Desktop

You can Block an account on a desktop from the menu you’d use for Restricting an account. However, a person can be Blocked from the DMs page, as well.

  1. Go to your Direct Messages
  2. Select the conversation with the person that you want to block
  3. Tap the “i” icon in the upper-right corner
  4. Select Block
  5. Confirm by clicking Block

Deleting Instagram

Yes, this doesn’t really feellike a solution, but maybe it’s time to question whether you really needInstagram in your life. If you’re not using your account for business, forexample, deleting the app might not be a bad idea. By deleting the app, you aren’tdeleting your account. So, when you really need to access Instagram, you can doit via the browser.

Deleting an Instagram Chat

You can delete an Instagramchat with an account very quickly. However, you need to realize that this won’tprevent the person from sending messages to you or block out any notifications.Once the person from the deleted chat sends you a message, a new chat willappear. Additionally, deleting a conversation won’t delete it for the otherparty.

However, if you block someoneon Instagram, you might want to delete any past chat with them. Here’s how todo it.

iOS and Android

  1. Swipe to the left on aconversation
  2. Tap More
  3. Tap Delete
  4. Confirm by tapping Delete

Desktop

  1. Select the chat that youwant to delete
  2. Navigate to the “i” button in the top-right corner
  3. Select Delete Chat
  4. Confirm by clicking Delete

Additional FAQ

Can I block only specific accounts from sending a direct message on Instagram?

You can’t block an account from sending you a DM without unfollowing the account and making your profile Private. As mentioned before, Restricting/Blocking an account may prove a good workaround, though.

How long does DM block last on Instagram?

If you block someone, they will remain blocked until you choose to unblock them. To unblock an account, navigate to the desired Instagram profile and you’ll see an Unblock function. Tap and confirm unblocking by tapping Unblock. It works the same way on desktop

Does Instagram DM have a limit?

Officially, there isn’t a limit regarding sending messages on it. However, an account will be blocked from sending more messages for 24 hours after sending 50-100 DMs in a single day. The account doesn’t get blocked, though – it’s just rendered unable to send messages for a day. Instagram has introduced this limit to counter abuse of this feature.

Do Instagram direct messages expire?

When you send a photo on Instagram and don’t select the mode that allows the photo to stay in the chat, the photo will expire and end up deleted after being seen. However, this isn’t the case with Instagram’s direct messages. Unlike Snapchat, Instagram saves your entire chat history. However, if you delete a chat, this history is deleted.

Does blocking someone on Instagram delete DMs?

Although the person that you’ve blocked won’t get any messages that you try sending them and won’t be able to access your profile or DM you, the chat history won’t be deleted. If you ever unblock the person, the chat history will remain intact. Provided that you didn’t delete the chat, of course.

Dealing with DMs on Instagram

Although you can’t really turnDMs off on Instagram altogether, you can take some workaround steps that maywork for you. Consider your options and try the methods that we’ve mentionedhere.

Hopefully, this guide has beenof help to you. Despite the fact that the solution isn’t apparent and direct,we are confident that one of these solutions will work for you. If you have anyadditional questions or think that we’ve failed to mention something, let usknow in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.