How To Remove an Account From the Instagram iPhone or Android App

If you decide to take a break from social media networks, you might want to know how to remove your Instagram account from the app. Fortunately, this is a relatively straightforward process.

In this article, we’ll provide you with a detailed step-by-step guide on how to do just that. Plus, we’ll explore other interesting options that might come in handy.

How to Remove an Instagram Account From the iPhone App

Removing an account from the Instagram app is simple and can be done in a few steps. Instagram allows you to have up to five accounts and to switch among them without having to log out. It’s important to note that removing an Instagram account isn’t the same as deleting it. When you remove it, it won’t show up on your profile anymore, but you can still log back in anytime you want. Also, other people can still see your account once you remove it from your profile.

Log Out

If you have multiple accounts on your Instagram app and you want to remove one, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Make sure you’re currently on the account that you want to log out of.
  3. Tap your profile picture at the bottom-right corner.
  4. Tap the three lines at the top-right corner.
  5. Tap “Settings.”
  6. Tap “Log out.”
  7. You’ll see a message asking you if you want to log out. Tap “Log Out.”

Saved Login Information

You might notice that even though you’ve logged out of your account, the account will be there the next time you open the app. This can happen due to enabled saved login information. To ensure you’ve completely removed the account from your app, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Ensure you’re currently in the account you want to remove.
  3. Tap the profile picture at the bottom-right corner.
  4. Tap the three lines at the top-right corner.
  5. Tap “Settings.”
  6. Tap “Security.”
  7. Tap “Saved Login Info.”
  8. Move the slider button to turn off saved login info.

By doing this, you’ve ensured Instagram doesn’t remember the account info on your device. Now, you can repeat the steps mentioned above to log out.

As stated above, since your account isn’t deleted, you can log back in anytime you want by entering your username and password.

Security

In terms of security, you have nothing to worry about. Your account won’t be deleted once you remove it from your profile and no information will be lost. People will still be able to search for it and view it. Since it’s not deleted from Instagram, you can log back in anytime you want.

Settings

Instagram settings allow you to manage all accounts related to your profile without having to log out. Besides that, you can also customize the connection between your Instagram accounts and other social networks, such as Facebook and Messenger.

How to Remove an Instagram Account From the Android App

Log Out

If you have several accounts on your Instagram app and you want to remove one, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Confirm that you’re currently on the account that you want to log out of.

  3. Tap your profile picture at the bottom-right corner.

  4. Tap the three lines at the top-right corner.
    Tap “Settings.”
  5. Tap “Log out.”
  6. You’ll see a message asking you if you want to log out. Tap “Log Out.”

Saved Login Information

Even though you logged out from one of your accounts, it can still appear on your Instagram. This is due to enabled saved login information. To remove the account from your app altogether and ensure it doesn’t show up again, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Check if you’re currently in the account you want to remove.
  3. Tap the profile picture at the bottom-right corner.
  4. Tap the three lines at the top-right corner.
  5. Tap “Settings.”
  6. Tap “Security.”
  7. Tap “Saved Login Info.”
  8. Move the slider to turn off saved login info.
  9. Follow the steps mentioned above to log out.

Security

It’s important to note your account won’t be deleted from Instagram once you remove it from your profile. Other people can still see it on the social network, along with the likes and comments you might’ve made. You can log back into your account whenever you want.

Settings

Instagram settings allow you to manage all of your accounts without having to log out. You can view your activity, login information, and customize the privacy and security of your accounts.

How to Temporarily Disable an Instagram Account

If you want to take a temporary break from Instagram, you can choose to disable it. If you decide to proceed, Instagram will hide your profile, photos, comments, likes, etc., until you log back in.

To temporarily delete your Instagram account, you have to log in to your account using a computer or a mobile browser.

  1. Log in to the account.
  2. Tap your profile picture at the top-right corner.
  3. Tap “Profile.”
  4. Tap “Edit Profile” next to your username.
  5. Scroll down and tap “Temporarily disable my account” at the bottom-right corner.
  6. Instagram will ask you what the reason is for disabling your account. Choose an option from the drop-down menu.
  7. Reenter your password.
  8. Tap “Temporarily disable my account.”

Switch Between Instagram Accounts in Just a Few Clicks

Instagram offers a variety of interesting features. Unlike many other apps, it allows you to add and switch between multiple accounts without logging in and out constantly. Besides learning how to remove an account from the app, you’ve also learned more about other options Instagram has to offer, such as managing Instagram notifications.

Do you have multiple accounts on Instagram? Is it easy for you to switch between them? Tell us more in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos