How To Turn Location On or Off in BeReal

BeReal has been topping the app charts lately, and it’s no wonder. It gives us a new way to stay in touch with authentic, real-time posts. One thing that can add another dimension to your BeReal entries is attaching your location to your picture.

How To Turn Location On or Off in BeReal

If you’re new to BeReal and are wondering how this feature works, you’re in the right place. Read on to learn how to turn on your location in BeReal.

How to Turn Your Location On in BeReal

BeReal is all about showing your true self. With each BeReal post, you can show your friends and acquaintances what you are up to at any given moment.

If you use this app to keep in touch with your closest friends and relatives, attaching your location to your BeReal can be a good idea. Your friends won’t have to rack their brains trying to figure out where you are. You’ll also get a good overlook of the places you’ve been by checking your BeReal Memories.

You can add your location to your BeReals by ensuring this option is enabled each time you post. Here’s where you’ll find it in the app.

  1. If you’re new to the app, download BeReal for your Android or iOS device and create an account. You’ll immediately receive a notification to take your first BeReal.
  2. Take a BeReal by tapping the notification.
  3. Snap a photo with your front and back cameras.
  4. Once your photos are ready, you’ll see a preview of your BeReal. A few options will pop up at the bottom of the screen, one of them being location sharing.
  5. If the location icon is crossed out, enable your location by tapping the button and selecting “Location on.”
  6. Hit the “Send” button and your BeReal, containing your location, is now on your friends’ feeds.

How to Turn Your Location Off in BeReal

You can share BeReals with just your close acquaintances or post them on the Discover feed where other BeReal users will be able to see them. If you’re going for the latter option, you may want to turn your location off for your post, for safety reasons. Fortunately, disabling your location is just as simple as enabling it. Here are the steps.

  1. Create a new BeReal by tapping the notification the app sends you or opening BeReal and pressing “Post a Late BeReal.”
  2. Take a picture with your back, then the front cameras.
  3. On the preview screen, find the location button at the bottom.
  4. If the icon is crossed out, your location is already off. If you see a normal arrow icon, tap the button and select “Location off.”
  5. Press “Send” to post your BeReal.

If you don’t want the app to access your location at all, you can also remove this permission through your device’s settings.

Follow these steps on an iPhone.

  1. Open your Settings and search for BeReal.
  2. Select BeReal from the list to see the app settings.
  3. Under “Location,” select “Never.”

If you have an Android device, turn off location access in the following way.

  1. Go to your Settings and then “Apps.”
  2. Find BeReal on your app list.
  3. Under “Permissions,” make sure “Location” is off.

Now you won’t have to worry about accidentally adding your location to a BeReal post.

FAQ

Can I turn location on or off for all BeReals?

At the time of writing this article, BeReal doesn’t yet have an option in its settings to turn location on or off for all posts. You’ll have to remember to take this extra step each time you send a BeReal, or remove location access entirely through your phone’s settings. The app is still fairly new, so this might change in the future.

How can I see the location of someone else’s BeReal?

Are you curious where your friend snapped their BeReal? See if they attached their location in the following way.

1. Locate the post you want to check.

2. Tap the three dots in the upper-right corner.

3. If location sharing was enabled, a map will show the place where the BeReal was taken.

4. Zoom in on the map to get a more precise location.

Can I remove my location from a BeReal?

There isn’t much editing you can do to your BeReal. You won’t be able to remove the location of your image once it’s posted. If you still need to hide this piece of information, you’ll have to delete the entry entirely.

Be Real With BeReal

In the era of over-edited images, BeReal is like a breath of fresh air. You can be your authentic self on this app, but it’s still you who decides how much of your life you share. Turn your location on or off when posting a BeReal, depending on your preferences. The instructions above will help you.

Have you created a BeReal account yet? Do you prefer to share your location, or would you rather keep it private? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos