How to Check Who Your Location Is Shared With on an iPhone

Apple devices enable you to share your location with family and friends. They can keep track of your whereabouts, see where you’re going, and ensure you’re safe. You can customize these settings at any time, but sometimes you may forget to disable others from seeing where you are.

How to Check Who Your Location Is Shared With on an iPhone

If you want to know how to check who you’ve shared your location with on your iPhone, you’ve come to the right place. This article will tell you everything you need to know about the location sharing feature.

How To See Who your Location is Shared With

With the Find My app that comes with every Apple device, you can locate your friends and share your location.

If you want to revise the list of people who can see your location, follow these steps:

  1. Go to settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap “Find My.”
  4. You’ll see the list of people who can see your location.

You can also use the “Find My” app:

  1. Open the “Find My” app.
  2. Tap “People.”
  3. Review the list of people who can track your whereabouts.

How to Stop Sharing Location With Someone on an iPhone?

The decision to share your location with someone is always yours. If you want to stop sharing your location with a particular person, you’ll be happy to know there are multiple ways to achieve this. We’ll walk you through all of them.

Find My Settings

The first method requires you to access the Find My settings and remove the person:

  1. Go to your settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap “Find My.”
  4. Tap the person’s name from the list of people who can see your location.
  5. Tap “Stop Sharing My Location.”
  6. You’ll see a prompt asking you to confirm your decision. Tap “Stop Sharing My Location” again.

Find My App

You can use the Find My app to edit the list of people who can see your location.

Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open the Find My app.
  2. Go to the “People” tab.
  3. You’ll see a list of people who can see your location and the people whose location you can see. Those who can see your whereabouts are marked with “Can see your location.” Choose whoever you want to remove from the list.
  4. Tap “Stop Sharing My Location” and confirm it when prompted.

Another way to stop sharing your location with someone is to swipe left on their name and tap the delete button.

The person will be removed from the list unless they’ve given you access to their location. In that case, they will stay on the list, but “Can see your location” will be removed.

Messages App

You can use the Messages app to check whether you’re sharing your location with a particular person and stop sharing.

Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Tap the conversation thread with the person in question.
  3. Tap their photo.
  4. Tap “Stop Sharing My Location.”

Contacts App

Using the Contacts app, you can check if you’re sharing your location with someone and disable it if you want.

Follow the instructions below to do so:

  1. Open the Contacts app / Open the Phone app and tap “Contacts.”
  2. Find the contact with whom you want to stop sharing your location and tap it.
  3. If you’re sharing your location with them, you’ll see the “Stop Sharing My Location” option. Tap it.
  4. A pop-up message will appear asking you to confirm your decision. Tap “Stop Sharing My Location” once again.

Maps App

If you have iOS 13.1 or later, you can use the Maps app to share your ETA with your family or friends while you’re using navigation.

Here’s how to stop this:

  1. During directions, tap “Share ETA.”
  2. Tap the contact in question to stop sharing your ETA.

Once you arrive at your destination, the ETA will stop being shared.

How to Stop Sharing Location With Everyone

In addition to disabling location sharing with specific people, you can turn this option off completely and disable anyone from knowing where you are.

Find My Settings

Follow the instructions below to stop sharing your location using your settings:

  1. Open your settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap “Find My.”
  4. Switch the toggle button next to “Share My Location.”

You can also use this method:

  1. Open your settings.
  2. Tap “Privacy.”
  3. Tap “Location Services.”
  4. Tap “Share My Location.”
  5. Switch the toggle button next to “Share My Location.”

Find My App

Another way to disable sharing your location is by adjusting the settings in the Find My app.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open the Find My app.
  2. Access the “Me” tab.
  3. Switch the toggle button next to “Share My Location.”

Keep in mind that once you’ve re-enabled sharing your location again, all contacts who could see it will resume sharing your whereabouts. To prevent this, you can remove any contacts from your list using one of the methods discussed above.

Additional FAQs

How Do I Know if Someone Stopped Sharing Their Location With Me?

When someone stops sharing their location with you, you won’t be notified about the fact. However, there is a way to discover who’s disabled you from tracking their whereabouts.

One of the methods is checking the “People” list:

1. Open the “Find My” app.

2. Go to the “People” tab.

3. You’ll see a list of people who can see your location and who enabled you to see theirs. If the person in question isn’t on the list, it means they’ve stopped sharing their location with you.

Once the person reactivates location sharing, you’ll be notified if you’re still on their list.

Keep Track of People Who Can See Your Location

Although sharing your location can be useful, you might want to pay attention to who has access to your whereabouts. You can check who has access to your location and remove any of them as needed. Alternatively, you can disable location services altogether.

Do you often share your location with others? What methods do you use to keep your whereabouts private? Tell us in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos