How to Delete Groups in Telegram

If you use Telegram a lot, you might have created a group within the app. But what happens if you want to delete a particular group for whatever reason? Fortunately, this is a relatively straightforward procedure.

How to Delete Groups in Telegram

In this article, we’ll show you how to delete groups on Telegram across a number of popular devices. Be careful, though. Once a group is deleted, it’s permanent. The groups and chats will be automatically removed.

Delete Telegram Groups on Desktop

The steps are the same for both PC/Windows and Mac. Note that if you have the Telegram app on your computer, you first need to turn the group you want to delete into a Super-group before you can delete it. Please make sure your group type is a “Private Group” and not a “Public Group” or “Open Group,” or else it won’t delete.

Once you have opened Telegram in Windows or on your Mac, follow these steps to create a Super-group so that you will be able to delete it:

  1. Click on the “⁝” triple-dot icon which should be top right on your screen.
  2. Select the group menu button.
  3. Go to the “Manage Group” option and click on it.
  4. Tap on “Group Info.” The “Edit Group” screen will appear.
  5. Choose the “Convert to Super-group” option.
  6. Click on “Convert.”
  7. Return to the “Manage Group” option.
  8. Click on “Group Info.”
  9. Select the “Delete Group” option. If you don’t see it, you should scroll down until you do.
  10. Tap on “Delete.” This is the screen that gives you the opportunity to change your mind before confirming by clicking “Delete.” Remember, once deleted, a group can’t be reinstated.
  11. Click the “Delete” option. The group will automatically be deleted.

Delete Groups on Telegram Android:

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Select the “Group information” option and click on it.
  3. Open the group you want to delete. The group name will be highlighted.
  4. Click on the group name.
  5. Click on the “Pen” icon top right, next to the “⁝” triple dot icon.
  6. Select and click on the “Delete Group” option which is the last option on the list. A cautionary message will appear to make sure you want to delete the group.
  7. Click on the “Delete Group” option. The group is now permanently deleted.

Delete Groups on Telegram iPhone:

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Open up Telegram Group information.
  3. Select and tap the group you want to terminate. The group name will be highlighted.
  4. Tap on the group name.
  5. Go to the “Edit” icon top right, next to the triple dot icon, and tap.
  6. Select the “Delete Group” option which is the last listed option. A cautionary message will appear to make sure you want to delete the group.
  7. Tap on the “Delete Group” option. The group is now permanently deleted.

How to Remove Group Members on Telegram?

The steps below will show you how to delete members on Mac or PC/Windows, Android or iPhone.

Removing a Telegram Group Member on Mac

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Find the group chat that contains the member you want to remove.
  3. Tap on the group name at the top of the screen.
  4. Select the “Edit” option at the top right.
  5. Scroll for the member you want to remove.
  6. Click on the “Minus” option next to the member. The member will be removed.

Removing a Telegram Group Member on PC/Windows

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Go to the group chat that the user is a member of.
  3. Click on the group name at the top of the window.
  4. Scroll down, look for the member you want to remove.
  5. Select the “X” option next to the person’s name.
  6. Then click “REMOVE” that member will be removed.

Removing a Telegram Group Member on Android

  1. Open the Telegram app.
  2. Tap on the “Broadcast Chat” option just below the Telegram banner at the top.
  3. Now tap on the broadcast name that appears in the banner. Group members will be displayed.
  4. Click and hold down on the member you want to remove.
  5. Select the “remove from broadcast list” banner which will appear. The member has now been removed.

Removing a Telegram Group Member on iPhone

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Go to the group chat page on your iPhone.
  3. Press the profile icon at the top right. The group members will be displayed.
  4. Pick the member by placing your finger on the member’s name.
  5. Slide your finger, while on the member’s name, to the left. The “Promote, Restrict, Delete” banner will appear.
  6. Press the “Delete” option to remove the member.

How to Delete Telegram Group Chat Messages?

Here are the steps to explain how to delete group chat messages on your Telegram Desktop, Android, or iPhone.

How to Delete Telegram Group Chat Messages on Desktop?

The steps are the same for PC/Windows and Mac.

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Click on the chat that contains the message you want to delete.
  3. Right-click on the message you want to delete. A pop-up menu will appear.
  4. Click on “Delete message.” A confirmation message will then appear.
  5. Click on “Delete.” The message will then be deleted from the chat.

Note: If it’s been longer than 48 hours since sending the message, it can’t be deleted.

How to Delete Telegram Group Chat Messages on Android?

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Select the chat that has the message in. The chat contents will appear.
  3. Click on and hold the message you want to delete. A pop-up message will then appear.
  4. Go to the “Trash Can” icon and click. A confirmation message will pop up.
  5. Click on “DELETE” if you still want to delete it. The message will be deleted.

Note: If it’s been longer than 48 hours since sending the message, it can’t be deleted.

How to Delete Telegram Group Chat Messages on iPhone?

  1. Open your Telegram app.
  2. Tap on the “Chats” icon.
  3. Select the chat on the Chats List that contains the message to be deleted. The full chat will open.
  4. Tap and hold the chat “Message Bubble.” A toolbar will then pop up above the message.
  5. Click on the “More” option on the black toolbar.
  6. Select all the messages you want to delete. A blue tick/checkmark will appear next to them.
  7. Tap on the blue “Trash Can” icon which is located in the lower-left corner of your screen.
  8. Click on the “Delete for Me” option in the confirmation pop-up. The selected messages will be deleted.

Note 1: If it’s been longer than 48 hours since sending the message, it can’t be deleted.

Note 2: Your contacts will still be able to see your deleted messages on their phones.

Note 3: You can only remove messages from your own phone or tablet.

Additional Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How Do You Leave a Telegram Group?

Here’s how you can leave a Telegram group on your Desktop, Android, or iPhone.

How to Leave a Telegram Group Desktop?

The steps are the same for PC/Windows and Mac.

1. Open your Telegram app.

2. Select the group you’d like to leave. The group will then open in the main panel on the right.

3. Click on the “⁝” triple-dot icon top right. A drop-down menu will then pop up.

4. Choose the “Leave group” option. A confirmation message will pop up.

5. Click on “Leave”. Your membership of the group will automatically end.

How to Leave a Telegram Group on Android?

1. Open your Telegram app.

2. Click on and hold the group you want to exit. A pop-up menu will then appear on the screen.

3. Go to the “Leave group” option and click. A confirmation message will pop up.

4. Click on “OK.” Your membership of the group will then terminate.

How to Leave a Telegram Group on iPhone?

1. Open your Telegram app.

2. Tap on the group you want to leave and press on the “I” icon in the top right of the screen.

3. Click on “Delete” and “Exit.”

4. Select “Delete” and click “Exit” again. You are now no longer a member of the group.

Telegraph Your New Skills on Telegram

Now that you know how to delete groups on the most popular platforms, you can “telegraph” or share the steps with your Telegram contacts. This will allow you to streamline your group communications and get rid of any unwanted groups or chats.

Have you ever deleted groups or messages or group members on Telegram? If you have followed any of these steps outlined above, let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos