How to Remove an Account From Google Chrome

Signing into Google Chrome allows you to sync your data between devices easily. Although convenient, you might not want to have the same bookmarks for all your browsing data. It might also be that you used your Google account on a computer other than your own and would like to remove the account from that browser. Whatever the case might be, removing an account from Google Chrome is something you can do in a few easy steps.

How to Remove an Account From Google Chrome

This article will give you a rundown of how to remove your account from Google Chrome. All you will need to do is tweak a few settings in your browser. The guide will also walk you through permanently deleting your account from Google Chrome, whether you are on your desktop or using your mobile devices.

How to Remove an Account From Google Chrome on a PC

Google Chrome allows you to save multiple accounts so that you can easily switch back and forth between profiles. This allows you to conveniently pick up where you left off, even when using a different device. If you are looking to delete one or more of these accounts from your PC browser, check out the steps below:

  1. Open Google Chrome and click on the profile icon in the top right corner.
  2. Tap on the “Settings” icon.
  3. A window with the Chrome profiles listed as cards will appear.
  4. Click on the three-dot menu at the top right corner of the profile you would like to delete.
  5. Select “Delete” on the dropdown menu.
  6. A pop-up message with the history and browsing data of the profile will appear.
  7. Confirm that you want to get rid of the profile by pressing “Delete.”

The account profile selected will now be removed from Google Chrome.

How to Remove an Account From Google Chrome on an Android Device

If you would like to remove an account from Google Chrome using your Android device, you can use two different methods. You can delete the account from your device entirely, or you can remove it from Google Chrome only, leaving the other Google services untouched.

You can delete the account from the device itself by following the steps below:

  1. On your phone, go to “Settings” then “Account.”
  2. Tap on the account you would like to delete.
  3. On the next page, click the “Remove Account” button.

Your account will now be removed from your Android device, including Google Chrome.

To remove your account from Chrome only and remain signed in to other Google services, follow the steps outlined below:

  1. Open Chrome and navigate to “Settings” on the top right corner.
  2. Select your profile and go to the account you would like to remove.
  3. Press the “Sign out and “turn off sync” button.

You will now be signed out of your account on Google Chrome.

How to Remove an Account From Google Chrome on an iPhone or iPad

It might be that you are using Google Chrome on an Apple device. Here’s how to quickly delete an account from Google Chrome if you are logged in using an iPhone or an iPad.

  1. Navigate to “Settings” on Google Chrome.
  2. Tap on the profile icon and choose the account you would like to delete.
  3. Select “Sign out and “turn off sync.”

You will have successfully removed your account from Google Chrome on your iOS device.

How to Remove an Account From Google Chrome on a Mac

If you are using Google Chrome on your Mac, then this is how to remove an account.

  1. Open Google Chrome and click on the profile icon in the top right corner.
  2. Click on the “Settings” icon.
  3. A window with the Chrome profiles listed as cards will appear.
  4. Identify the profile you would like to delete and click on the three dots in the top right corner.
  5. From the dropdown menu that appears, press “Delete.”
  6. A pop-up message with the history and browsing data of the profile will be displayed.
  7. Confirm that you want to get rid of the profile by pressing “Delete.”

The account profile selected will now be removed from Google Chrome.

Additional FAQs

How to turn off automatic sign-in in Chrome

To offer you a seamless browsing experience, Google Chrome automatically signs you in to your Google account every time you log into a Google service. To turn off this feature in Google Chrome, you can follow the guide below:

1. Open Google Chrome.

2. Click on the three dots in the top right corner.

3. Select “Settings.”

4. Go to “Sync and Google Services.”

5. Toggle “Allow Chrome Sign-In” on the next page to the OFF position.

Now you can sign in to Google services without signing into Chrome.

Delinking From Google Chrome

As convenient as being signed in to Google services on Chrome can be, there may come a time when you want to delink your account. With this tutorial, you now know how to remove one or multiple accounts from Google Chrome. This prevents your previous history and passwords from being loaded every time you open your Chrome browser. Irrespective of your device, removing your account from Chrome can be accomplished in a few easy steps.

Do you have multiple accounts on Google Chrome? Let us know how you go about removing them from the browser.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos