How to Delete for Both in WhatsApp

If you use WhatsApp for business or socializing, you may want to delete messages. Maybe you sent a message with typos by mistake, or attached the wrong images or attachments. Alternatively, you might have sent a message to the wrong recipient altogether. Fortunately, the “Delete for Everyone” feature will help resolve the issue.

How to Delete for Both in WhatsApp

This article explains how to delete messages for everyone on different gadgets. We’ll also look at the possible ways of deleting a message even after the time limit has elapsed.

Deleting for Everyone

This feature allows you to delete messages sent to a group chat or an individual. It’s a handy feature that lets you eliminate messages sent to the wrong recipient or remove messages with errors. In addition, group admins can remove any inappropriate messages. In that case, the “This Message was Deleted” replaces the original message.

To delete messages sent on the web and desktop for everyone, follow these steps:

  1. Find the chat containing the message you want to be deleted.
  2. Click on “Menu.”
  3. Click the “Delete message” option.
  4. Choose “Delete for everyone.”

As a group admin, you can delete messages for all members if a participant sends something inappropriate. The message displayed after deletion is: “This message was deleted by admin (name of admin who deleted).” If a group participant sends the wrong message, they can delete it using the steps above.

Deleting for Yourself

WhatsApp users can delete copies of messages received or sent for themselves without affecting the recipient’s side. Here’s what you need to:

  1. Access the chat containing the message you intend to delete.
  2. Choose “Menu” in the chat.
  3. Click “Delete Message” and choose “Delete for Me.”

Note that the action can be undone in 5 seconds by choosing undo. Once that time period elapses, the message is deleted permanently.

Deleting on Android

If you’re are using WhatsApp on Android, the following steps allow you to delete everyone:

  1. Access the chat with the target message.
  2. Tap the message and hold. If you want to delete many messages at once, select by tapping them and holding to highlight.
  3. Tap the “Delete” icon at the top of the chat tab.
  4. Click “Delete for Everyone” option. “You deleted this message” will replace the original message.

The above steps can also be used in group chats, where admins can remove messages posted by participants if they don’t follow their guidelines.

Delete for Everyone on iPhone

The delete for everyone option on iPhone involves a similar process.

  1. Click the chat with the message you’re targeting.
  2. Tap the message and hold. From the delete menu, choose “Delete.” You can choose multiple messages to delete at once.
  3. Choose “Delete for Everyone.”

Group admins can use the same steps to delete messages to manage their private communities and groups.

If you choose to delete for everyone, there are some things you should do know:

  • Both parties need to have the latest version of WhatsApp.
  • Recipients using iOS might have the media that you sent saved in photos even if you deleted it from the chat on WhatsApp.
  • There are chances that the recipients already saw the message before its deletion or in case deletion didn’t succeed.
  • If deleting wasn’t successful, you don’t get a notification.
  • You have two days to delete a message. This includes group admins.
  • The group participants will be aware of who deleted the message for everyone.
  • Deleted messages can’t be appealed or recovered.

Deleting for Both After the Two-Day Limit Has Elapsed

There is two-day time limit if you want to delete messages for everyone. However, there are instances when you still need to delete a message even after the time limit. If that’s the case, you may change your phone’s time and date. This makes WhatsApp believe that the time limit hasn’t been crossed yet, making it possible to use the above steps on iPhone and Android.

On iPhone

To delete a message for everyone after the limit has passed on iPhone, follow these steps:

  1. Check the date and time when the message was sent.
  2. Turn the phone back on and enable “Airplane Mode.”
  3. In settings, choose “General” and tap “Date and Time.”
  4. If “Set Automatically” is on, turn it off. Next, adjust the time and date to be close or before the date and time of the message you want to delete.
  5. Without deactivating “Airplane Mode,” open WhatsApp and delete the message in question for everyone.

On Android

Here’s what the process looks like on Android:

  1. Take note of the time and date the message was sent and close the app.
  2. Go to “Settings,” then tap on “Apps and Notifications” or “App.”
  3. Choose WhatsApp and “Force Stop” or “Force Close” and tap ”OK.” This freezes the app and it won’t run.
  4. Turn off mobile data and Wi-Fi.
  5. Go to date and time settings.
  6. Turn off the automatic date and time and alter it to a time before the message was sent.
  7. Open WhatsApp and delete the target message/messages for everyone. Mobile data and Wi-Fi should remain off until you’ve done so. Revert to the normal time and date settings once the message is deleted successfully. The deleted messages will no longer be on your device.

Things You Should Remember if You Delete Messages for Everyone After the Set Limit

If you delete a message after the set limit using the above steps, the receipt can quickly recover from their WhatsApp backup if it’s active. However, the media sent may be already saved in photos or the corresponding folder. You can’t make alterations if that’s the case.

When you pick a message that’s too old, this trick may not work. Instead, WhatsApp will notify you that your phone date and time are inaccurate and need to be adjusted.

Don’t Stress Over Wrong Messages on WhatsApp

Anyone who uses WhatsApp may have made a mistake when sending a message in a group or individual chat. When caught in time, you can save yourself from the embarrassment by simply deleting for everyone. In addition, using your phone settings, you may delete messages even after the time limit has elapsed.

Pay attention before sending out any message on WhatsApp. Even with great care, things get out of hand at times.

Have you ever deleted a message on WhatsApp? Did you use any of the tips and tricks featured in the article. Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos