How to Delete Your Uber Account for Good
Uber is an excellent service available to most people in populated areas. A lot like a taxi service, you can use the application to have someone come and pick you up and take you to your desired location. Upon creating an account, you can quickly order a ride, save places you go frequently, and even set a specific location on a map.
But, what happens when you no longer want to use Uber? Can you delete the entire Uber account and everything that comes with it? In this article, we’ll show you everything you need to know about deleting your Uber account.
How to Delete Your Uber Account
If you no longer wish to use Uber, you can permanently deactivate your account. Fortunately, it’s pretty simple to do and you can delete your Uber account using the mobile app or the web. Let’s jump right in.
How to Delete Your Uber Account – Mobile Devices
If you only have access to your mobile device (smartphone) you can delete your account using these steps:
- Open the Uber app and sign in.
- Tap on the Menu icon in the upper left (three horizontal lines).
- Tap on ‘Settings‘ from within the menu.
- Next, tap ‘Privacy.’
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap ‘Delete Account.’
- Follow the verification steps to sign in an input the code that was texted to you. Then, click ‘Continue’ to cancel your Uber account.
Do keep in mind that this will delete all of your Uber accounts, even Uber Eats.
How to Delete Uber Eats – Web Browser
Sometimes it’s easier to work on a computer. If you have one available, follow these steps to delete your Uber account:
- Go to the Uber deactivation page here and sign into your account.
- Scroll to the bottom and click ‘Continue.’
- Follow the steps to delete all of your Uber accounts.
How to Delete an Uber Driver Account
Driving for Uber became a popular income resource for a lot of people over the past few years. With flexible schedules and the ability to work whenever you want, it can be quite enticing to drive for Uber. But what can you do when you no longer wish to drive for the company?
There isn’t a way to delete your Uber Driver account in the app. If you delete your account using the instructions above, your Driver account will still exist. To permanently delete your account if you’re an Uber driver, you’ll need to visit this website.
Fill out the questionairre and submit it to the Uber support team. Your account will be permanently closed in 30 days. This waiting period gives you time to recover your existing account should you change your mind.
What Happens When You Delete Your Account
When you first request to delete your Uber account, it will become deactivated. This means the account still exists for the time. After 30 days, as long as you haven’t signed back in, your Uber account will be deleted permanently. This 30-day window gives you time to change your mind and if you do decide to keep your account, simply sign back in to reactivate it.
Deleting your account removes any credit, promotions, or rewards linked to your account and removes your rating meaning if you want to use Uber in the future, you’ll be starting from zero. Uber claims that it may keep certain information even after your account is deleted “as required or permitted by law,” but did not elaborate further.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here are some more answers to your most frequently asked questions about Uber.
How do I delete my Uber account without deleting my Uber Eats account?
Unfortunately, your Uber Eats and Uber account are one in the same. If you delete one, you delete the other (unless you use a different phone number and email to access your accounts). However, you can reach out to Uber’s support team for more help.
How long does it take to delete an Uber account?
When you select the option to delete your account, it will immediately disappear. But, you can still log into it using the same phone number/email and password for 30 days. After that initial 30 days, your account is permanently deleted.
How do I recover my Uber account after I’ve deleted it?
If you’re still within the 30 day grace period, all you need to do is log into your Uber account. After the 30 day grace period you will need to create a brand new account. Unfortunately, you won’t see any of your past rides or content.