How to Delete Messages on Snapchat Using Clear Chats, Even if They Haven’t Been Viewed

One of the things that makes Snapchat an excellent source of social media is the ability to control your privacy and content. Sure, other sites like Facebook and Instagram offer users the ability to selectively post content to their friends and close acquaintances. But, Snapchat offers close friends a little more.

With Best Friend’s emojis, a Snapscore, and the ability to limit not only your audience but what your audience can do with your posted content, it’s no wonder why the service is so popular. Loyal Snapchat users find new features and functions all the time but those who are new to the app may struggle to understand its interface.

That said, social media users around the globe can find an online privacy haven by creating and using Snapchat. For example, you can send a Snap to one person and set it to disappear as soon as they open it, or you can share with everyone on your friends’ list and let them view it for 24 hours.

For those of you who’ve ever hit the “Send” button and immediately regretted it, this article is for you. Snapchat will let you retract messages before another user ever sees it. We’ll explain how you can do this and more!

How to Delete a Snapchat Message

Deleting a Snapchat message is super simple. Log into the Snapchat app and do this:

Tap the ‘Chat’ icon in the lower-left

Select the contact with the message you’d like to delete

Long-Press the message and click ‘Delete’

Confirm by clicking ‘Delete’ again

How to Clear a Conversation

You can delete an entire conversation easily using the same steps above to get to the contacts then following these steps:

Long-press the contact and click ‘More’

Click ‘Clear Conversation’

Click ‘Clear’ again

How to Set Snaps to Automatically Delete

If you’ve sent a snap you’ll notice the long-press and delete option isn’t available. That’s because unlike messages, they will automatically delete after a certain time. You can control whether they delete after viewing or after twenty-four hours.

Follow the same instructions as above by long-pressing the contact and clicking ‘More,’ then do this:

Click ‘Delete Chats…’

Choose ‘After Viewing’

Doing this will set the snaps within that conversation to delete once the recipient has opened and viewed it.

If I delete a message that someone has already read, will it delete the message on their end too?

Yes, if you delete a message it will remove it on both users’ accounts. Fortunately, this function works even if the other user has saved the chat in their message thread (not if they’ve screenshotted it of course).

If I delete my account will it remove my messages?

No, unfortunately deleting your account will not remove your message or the snap you sent. It will remove your profile and personal information. Also, once you’ve sent someone a snap it won’t be deleted until they open it or it expires.

If I clear a conversation does it delete the messages for the recipient too?

No, it only deletes the conversation on your side. If you’re looking to delete a message, you’ll need to do so following the steps above.

My friend knew that I deleted a message. What happened?

Snapchat does have a feature that lets the recipient know you sent a message and retracted it. As they scroll through their chats with you a small gray message will state that you deleted a chat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.