How to Remove a Device from Netflix: Deactivate and Disconnect Your Account on Unwanted Devices

Netflix is an online streaming giant, but what do you do when too many devices get activated on your account? How about when you want to remove a device that someone uses to access your account? There is no limit to how many devices you can have on Netflix, but there is a limit on how many devices can stream at the same time. The limit is based on your subscription: Basic is one, Standard is two, and Premium is four as of September 2021. These limits are not for different movies or shows; they are for viewing anything simultaneously, even if it is the same stream.

How to Remove a Device from Netflix: Deactivate and Disconnect Your Account on Unwanted Devices

Perhaps you have numerous devices in your household, and you have problems when family or friends try to use Netflix at the same time.

Maybe you shared your login with someone outside the home and no longer want them to access your Netflix account?

No matter your Netflix device count situation, you may have considered removing specific devices to help control the limit issues or block a person from using your account.

Sadly, you cannot remove devices from within your Netflix account; you can only activate them. This scenario means that you can have 500 devices or 15. They will all work on your Netflix account, affecting your maximum simultaneous device viewing limit and giving any users access at any time.

If you think you can use your account to log out of specific devices (since you cannot individually remove them), you’ll need to think again.

Unfortunately, you cannot sign out of specific devices from within your Netflix account either. Furthermore, you also cannot stop them from signing back in unless you change the password. However, you CAN sign out of all devices using your account, then change your password. This process forces all devices to log back in to get any access at all.

Regardless of logout limitations and unauthorized account access, there is a legal workaround you can do to help reduce or control devices that use your Netflix account. In addition, there is another workaround you can use at your own risk, known as online parties. Here’s the scoop.

How to Sign Out of All Devices on Netflix

Since you cannot sign out of individual devices from within your Netflix account, you can sign out of all devices using the steps below.

  1. Log into your “Netflix account” from any web browser on any device.
  2. Choose your main profile by clicking on the “profile icon” or the “name.”
  3. Click on your “profile icon” in the top-right section, then select “Account.”
  4. In the “SETTINGS” section, click on “Sign out of all devices.”
  5. Confirm you choice to sing out of all devices.

Following the steps above, all devices now require logging into Netflix again to use the service.

How to Change Your Password

Another critical step in securing your account and controlling device access and the usage limit is to change your password. That way, all devices need the new login credentials to connect and stream.

To change your Netflix password do this:

  1. From the Account Page, click “Change password.”

2. Now, enter your “current password” and a “new password” in the text boxes below.

Click ‘Save’ when complete.

Assuming you used a password stronger than your dog’s name and the year you were born, you should be good to go. No devices can log in unless you provide the new password.

Host a Watch Party on Netflix to Control Viewing Device Limits

Rather than manually logging out of every registered device in Netflix or logging out of all of them from within your Netflix account, you can host a watch party to help reduce simultaneous viewing and account access. Of course, this process still requires individual device changes, but that helps if others in the household or your friends have Netflix accounts. Yes, as long as each person has a Netflix account, they can join your watch party.

Several online extensions for Chrome (and other browsers) let you host a watch party, but Teleparty (formerly Netflix Party) is the choice of many users. This extension/add-on has been on Chrome for a while, but it is now available in Microsoft Edge.

Teleparty is NOT owned or affiliated with Netflix, as many people think. Netflix also does not endorse or support the extension. Therefore, use Teleparty or any other online party extension at your own risk. Will you get in trouble? The answer is most likely no. Can you get in trouble? You certainly can.

  1. Open “Chrome” or “Edge” on your desktop or laptop computer (Mac or Windows).
  2. Access the “Chrome” or “Edge” add-on store and search for “Teleparty” and install it.
  3. Ensure your browser is set to sync all extensions or you’ll need to manually install Teleparty on all desktop/laptop devices using the previous step.

  4. Launch Netflix in the browser (Chrome on any Windows, Mac, or Linux PC), or choose Microsoft Edge (on Windows only).
  5. Open a “Netflix video” you want to host in your Netflix party (you can temporarily pause it if desired,) then click on the “Teleparty icon.” and select “Start the party.”
  6. Choose “Accept and Proceed” in the popup window.
  7. Click on “Copy URL,” then paste the link in messages sent to your friends and family.
  8. The Teleparty session begins. You can control the media, place comments in the chat, and see current status reports, such as paused, resumed, etc.

Using the steps above, you can reduce device access to your Netflix account, thus removing specific devices from your Netflix account. But remember, each user must have a Netflix account to access your online Netflix party.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens when I remove someone from my account?

Technically, you are not removing someone from your Netflix account because you cannot do it. You are essentially logging a device out of your account, thus blocking the user from accessing your Netflix account, as long as you changed your password.

How will I know if someone else is using my account?

You can check for all logged-in devices from the account page. You will also see content that you haven’t watched in the Recently Viewed section of your account settings.

Another way to know if someone is using your account is if Netflix makes odd recommendations (like Anime or thrillers you don’t ever watch). However, those items may exist legitimately if you haven’t used your account much or just registered for one. Furthermore, if you can’t stream because your simultaneous streaming limit got reached, then yes, someone is logged in and currently watching something on your Netflix account.

Lastly, if your account information has changed, such as the email or password, there’s a more severe problem. This situation indicates that someone hacked and hijacked your account. Change the email and password immediately, sign out of all devices using the steps above, and contact Netflix (send screenshots of the changes if possible).

I only want to remove one device, are there any other options?

Via Netflix, you can only remove ‘download devices’ individually, not actual devices, unless you remove them all using the “Sign out of all devices” option. But, if the device is on your home wifi network and your router allows you to block content, you can log into your router settings and restrict a particular device from using Netflix on your wifi.

Of course, you can also log out of the Netflix account on the device if you have it available. Following the exact instructions as above, tap on the option to ‘Sign Out’ from the menu. If you no longer want that device logging back into your account, change the password for extra security.

4 thoughts on “How to Remove a Device from Netflix: Deactivate and Disconnect Your Account on Unwanted Devices”

patricia price says:
i am getting billed for different accounts please cancel the ones i dont neee
Steve Larner says:
This isn’t a Netflix site. You’ll need to contact Netflix directly.
Michael Jamieson says:
One option you miss to remove Netflix from a device. If, like us, you are in temp home and want to remove before leaving just reset the device. Means you have to set-up device from scratch which isnt hard. But device will forget your login details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos